PMS is a….

7 Jan

Well ladies I’ll let you finish that sentence. It is that time of the month for me this week and I have been experiencing unbearable cramps. I even missed school today because of it. Endometriosis is probably the reason for all of my pain. So far 3 out of the five women in our family have been told by a doctor that they have it. In case you have no idea what I am talking about here is a little bit more info. about it from google: 

Endometriosis

Google Health   Mayo Clinic   Medline Plus   WebMD 
Endometriosis is a condition in which the tissue that behaves like
the cells lining the uterus (endometrium) grows in other areas of the
body, causing pain, irregular bleeding, and possible infertility …
http://www.google.com/health

One of the horrible symptoms this carries is painful/heavy periods. Here is a link with more information: https://health.google.com/health/ref/Endometriosis

QOD: Do you experience painful cramps? If so, what do you do?

 

With that said, here’s a guide to soothe your cramps:

First off, having some kind of medication always helps.

“Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, or NSAIDs, are the most effective medications for treating painful menstrual cramps”.

Tip: Most medicine for menstrual cramps: Midol, Aleve, Advil, Motrin, Naproxen are only available over the counter. If your cramps are really bad, then consider seeing a doctor to get a prescription 🙂

  

                    

 

 Invest in some sort of heat!
 “Since warmth helps to relax tight muscles, many women find that applying heat to the lower abdomen can relieve cramps.” I like the heating pad the best. You will not regret buying one, this thing is my best friend when I am on my period. The heat really does help soothe your cramps.

Exercise!
It will speed up your blood circulation, release endorphins(which are a natural pain-killer), and slow down the pain. I find that light cardio and yoga always helps. Yoga especially, because it feels good to stretch out your abdomen.

 

 

  

 

 

  Eat well/ Hydrate!
Drinking hot herbal tea will also help increase blood flow to your abdomen area. I have been drinking 1-2 cups everyday this week. It is just a natural home remedy that temporarily relieves the pain. Bananas are also a good thing to have. The potassium in them helps shut off the release of lactic acid from your cramps.

Here’s where I found some great information: http://www.getridofthings.com/get-rid-of-menstrual-cramps.htm

   

↑I hope these tips help! 😉

**********************

This morning, Whit took care of me and brought me some hot oats to eat in bed:

  

 

  With some…

  • Kashi GoLean Crunch
  •   Graham Cracker
  •  

    Honey PB

  •  Banana

  • PB filled pretzels
    on top! It was just what my belly needed 😛 Thanks Whit!

 

 

Most my day has been spent doing relaxing and drinking Whit’s Apple Cinnamon Tea creation!  

 

Oh yeah and as if she has not done enough for me already today…. she also made me LUNCH! Seriously Whit, thanks 🙂

 

This was the best raspberry Preserve & Coconut Butter cheesecake Sandwich! Seriously you guys, spread coconut butter on some bread and heat it up with your favorite preserves. It will taste like cheesecake or icing. New favorite sandwich ♥

Happy Friday! Tell me about your plans for this weekend.

XOXO Court

 

30 Responses to “PMS is a….”

  1. Kat January 7, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    Hope you feel better soon Court
    That sandwich looks so good. I seriously need to get myself some coconut butter.

  2. Fi January 7, 2011 at 4:43 PM #

    Oh feel better soon!! Tea? Heat pack?oats? Sounds like some winning remedy’s to me! X

  3. Picky Nicky January 7, 2011 at 8:24 PM #

    I’m SO making that sandwich 🙂
    You and your sister are too cute, by the way! Taking care of each other and all!
    Get well soon, please!!!

  4. paoang January 7, 2011 at 8:30 PM #

    PMS is a … bitch! 😄
    Haha hey you guys, thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s actually kind of funny- I swear I was reading through YOUR posts when you commented on my blog. Creepy, huh?! I love it!

    I’m so sorry you haven’t been feeling so hot lately, cramps suuuck! It’s cute how your sis took care of you though! 😄 I hope you feel better soon! Have a nice weekend you two!

    Can’t wait to keep reading!
    xx

    PS- That sandwich looks AMAZING!

    • Courtney January 13, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

      I thought the exact same thing when I read this post title lol, it is a bitch

  5. movesnmunchies January 8, 2011 at 1:06 AM #

    ahhh i could do with a c’cheesecake’ sammie RIGHT NOW!

  6. Erika January 8, 2011 at 10:42 AM #

    Cramps are the WORST! Feel better soon! 🙂

  7. Kailey- The Caffienated Nut January 8, 2011 at 3:32 PM #

    oh no – feel better girl :\ cramps are never a good thing!!
    on the bright side – your breakfast always look SO good 🙂

  8. healthyhelper January 8, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    lol i had those sane slipper you were wearing! cramps suck! but all those tips are definitely keepers and i agree with all of them…especially the heat…it feels so nice on a painful area.

  9. Kayla January 8, 2011 at 8:41 PM #

    How lucky you are to have her make your meals today!

  10. Wei-Wei January 9, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

    I hope you feel better soon! Cramps are no fun at all 😦 Awesome job, Whit! 😀

  11. Jessica@tastyandtrim January 10, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

    I hope you’re feeling better love!

  12. January 11, 2011 at 1:10 PM #

    Ugh PMS is such a pain! But for me exercise is the best to help it!

    And I tagged you:) http://youburnsomeyoueatsome.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/tagg/

  13. Freckled Foodie January 11, 2011 at 1:22 PM #

    cheesecake sandwich?! you girls are freaking awesome 🙂

    xo. feel better, sweet pea! pms is a beyotch.

  14. Erika January 11, 2011 at 3:13 PM #

    I tagged you both as Stylish Bloggers!
    http://foodfitnessandfun.wordpress.com/

  15. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 11, 2011 at 11:15 PM #

    can’t forget the chocolate! 😉

    Actually, someone once told me chocolate can make it worse. But I go based on thinking it makes it better, and the whole “placebo effect” idea 😉

    I personally like to curl up with something warm, whether that be my dog or a heating pad.

    I hope you feel better soon! And I’m loving your blog. 🙂 The two of you are so cute and sisterly. 🙂

  16. Molly January 12, 2011 at 10:21 AM #

    Hey Girlys, since your blog was one of my first (and favorites) to subscribe to, I am awarding you with the Stylish Blogger(s) Award. Check it out here: http://mollyrunsfresh.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/snow-day-yah-baybay/

  17. Courtney January 13, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

    Aww, hope you feel better soon! That sandwich looks super yummy 🙂

  18. Jessica@tastyandtrim January 13, 2011 at 2:40 PM #

    Hey loves! I’m just letting you know that I chose you girls as some of my favorite bloggers to receive the “Stylish Blogger Award” because I adore your blog! Here’s the link to the post http://tastyandtrim.com/?p=3240 Have an amazing weekend 🙂

  19. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel January 14, 2011 at 1:19 PM #

    my aunt has endometriosis and im sorry that it seems to be genetic in your case. i cant imagine the pain that would come with it, and im so sorry u have to deal with it. ive researched a bit on the nutrition and exercise side of endometriosis and that certain strength training programs can be helpful. also yoga yoga yoga..like gentle hatha stretching and strengthening can help. but definitely pain meds can help too. its not easy but theres definitely ways to help with the symptoms. ima give you a HUGE virtual hug, cuz lord knows you deserve it!! ❤

  20. TheSceneFromMe January 15, 2011 at 7:08 AM #

    The cheesecake sandwhich sounds fantastic, so many great combos you could put on that!

  21. Lizzie January 26, 2011 at 11:17 AM #

    I loved reading your blog… where have you girls been?

  22. xbox 360 bundle January 26, 2011 at 4:21 PM #

    Thank you for another good post about PMS is a…. Teens Eat. Where else could anyone get this kind of info in such a concise way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am trying to find such information.

  23. EmmaClaire January 27, 2011 at 8:36 PM #

    COME BACK!! We miss you and your fabulous blogging 😦

  24. Rapid Gigabitz February 6, 2011 at 8:07 AM #

    i cognate it PMS is a…. « Teens corrode at once im your rss reader

  25. A Teenage Gourmet February 6, 2011 at 10:41 AM #

    You girls are brave to post about this publicly! . . . but I’m grateful. Thanks for the tips. 🙂

  26. xsports April 3, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

    why cant i eat it?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coach Weight Loss » Blog Archive » understand the stages of the female body: From PMS to PPD - January 10, 2011

    […] PMS is a…. « Teens Eat […]

  2. Otc Anti-inflammatory Dogs Aleve | Medicine Blog - April 12, 2011

    […] anti-inflammatory drugs, eatngroove.wordpress.com […]

  3. My Dog Ate Aleve | Medicine Blog - June 11, 2011

    […] Motrin, Naproxen are only eatngroove.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

