What is your take on Vitamins?

5 Jan

 So for about the past three weeks, Courtney and I have been vitamin/supplement free, just to see the effect it would have on our body. We were trying to let our body’s take in nutrients on their own naturally by just simply eating healthy food and exercising.

The Result: Excessive tiredness, mood swings, grogginess, irregular down there, and breakouts to the skin. So basically, we are FOR SURE firm believers in taking some vitamins/supplements to aid your overall health 🙂

Currently, we take a kid gummy vitamin with a Vitamin-B 50 Complex pill right when we wake up, and a Biotin pill at lunch. The whole combo is energizing, and a better addition to the body after 3 weeks of no Vitamins. QOD: What is your take on Vitamins/Supplements?

Breakfast this morning consisted of Strawberry- Banana Overnight Oats:

-In the mix-

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp flax seeds
  • 1 6 oz container Chobani Strawberry Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1/2 sliced banana

Toppings:

  • Kashi GoLean crunch
  • Figs
  • Special K cereal
  • Skippy All Natural Honey PB
  • PB filled Pretzels

*All Served alongside some Sugar-Cookie Tea*

 Snackage: Kashi TLC Honey Almond Flax Bar + CUTIE!

 Lunch:

  • French Toast Bagel(smeared with Honey PB, and Pumpkin Cream Cheese
  • Egg Beater Scramble

 Toffee protein Pancakes from this recipe that we created in the summer.

 All meals today were pretty much breakfast oriented, but who does not love breakfast? Right?

Workout of the Day-Turbo Fire:Fire 30*

Here is a playlist we have been listening to lately on the way to school and work:

  • Ten Years Older-Jarrod Gorbel
  • Let it Be Me-Ray Lamontagne
  • This Years Love-David Gray
  • Sail Away-David Gray
  • Streetlight-Joshua Radin
  • What a day- Greg Laswell
  • And then you-Greg Laswell
  • Mercy-Duffy

Enjoy!

XOXO Court&Whit♥

17 Responses to “What is your take on Vitamins?”

  1. Kat @ Cupcakekat January 5, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

    I don’t take vitamins but recently I started drinking an iron herbal medicine. Perhaps I’ll start taking more vitamins as I frequently get tired in the afternoon.
    Your oatmeal and pancakes sound so good!

    • CourtandWhit January 5, 2011 at 9:06 PM #

      What is the name of the iron herbal medicine that you drink? We would love to check it out.

      • Kat January 6, 2011 at 10:56 PM #

        I take a formula called Salus Floavit. Its made of natural ingredients like spinach and cherry. The mixture looks gross but it actually tastes pretty good!

      • Kat January 6, 2011 at 10:57 PM #

        Sorry I spelled it wrond its called Salus Floravit

  2. healthyhelper January 5, 2011 at 9:15 PM #

    love those songs! and I totally love having breakfast all day! breakfast foods are my favorite! as for my take on vitamins….i used to take a multivitamin for teens but i would forget all the time to take it. But I never really felt any different when I took it or forgot it. Maybe it just wasn’t the right vitamin for me…..but right now i feel pretty good about the nutrition i get from my diet :)!

  3. kbwood January 5, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    i LOVE yalls breakfast creations.. so yummyyy!

  4. movesnmunchies January 6, 2011 at 12:15 AM #

    GAH you guys eat the best stuff!! I am def a vitamin believer- i take em everyday!

  5. Wei-Wei January 6, 2011 at 12:39 AM #

    Personally I don’t take vitamins and I don’t see the need to (for now) but I think that it just comes down to knowing what’s right for your bodies. I mean, you felt the effects of not taking the vitamins, so obviously they’re needed! Just do what feels right 🙂

    Oh, and breakfast for breakfast, lunch, and dinner? Me likey.

  6. fionalikeslife January 6, 2011 at 4:57 AM #

    Im definitely an advocate of multivits! especially at this time of year! im making pancakes for dinner tonight too – breakfast is totally acceptable at any time of the day! xx

  7. Laura January 6, 2011 at 5:56 AM #

    I love all of your breakfasty meals!
    Personally I don’t take any vitamin other than a calcium, but I think that if you feel better taking vitamins, then you should take them. I might try taking them again too

  8. Katie January 6, 2011 at 6:25 AM #

    Hey girls! Happy New Year!!!

    I have to say I love the new hair styles you girls got and the new piercings!! Glad your holidays were great!!!

    I do take a multivitamin , omega 3 6 9 and a probiotic everyday! I always have for a long time now, and I just started taking vitamin D chews too!

    Love your eats as ALWAYS! xoxoxo

  9. Katie January 6, 2011 at 6:29 AM #

    I definitely need to start taking vitamins again. Here’s what I plan to buy ASAP: fish oil, a mutli, joint vitamins, CLA, and a probiotic.

  10. Freckled Foodie January 6, 2011 at 7:05 AM #

    personally, i’m not a fan of vitamins. i mean, they can’t hurt, obviously. but i tihnk we can get all our nutrients from eating the right foods! 🙂

    xo.

  11. Kayla January 6, 2011 at 10:43 AM #

    I think it’s great to try and get vitamins and nutrients from the foods you eat, but sometimes you just can’t! I take a One-A-Day Women Multivitamin (when I remember to take it!). But I never really feel a change when I take it or forget to take it, so who knows!

  12. Kailey- The Caffienated Nut January 6, 2011 at 3:52 PM #

    wow thats really interesting that you guys saw such a difference in your mood and appearance!
    i just take a calcium supplement, but maybe i should try some more!!

    wow that french toast bagel sounds epic!

  13. unusualpassions January 10, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

    How did those MannaBears do for you? 😉

  14. Fitness Gal June 23, 2011 at 10:35 PM #

    My daughters take a liquid multivitamin called Verve. You probably would like it because it comes in an all natural energy drink, energy shot or just a regular 2 oz yummy liquid. Best part for me as a mom is that I know they are getting what they need and they can take it in a form that they like. Check it out at http://www.dorindaw.vemma .com Oh yeah, the other good part is that if you take the product, you can also tell your friends about it and make a nice income!

Leave a Reply

