~^~Look out General Mills~^~

27 Aug

So guess WHAT!?!

Today is Friday and NO SCHOOL! I have got to say, I am totally diggin’ this  new schedule 🙂 Last night was our second college class for the week… Art Apreciation. This class is also a Hybrid class so it goes from 6:00 pm – 8:40 pm. We have a girl teacher and her hair is black on top and gray on the bottom. Instantly when I saw her all that came to mind was Cruella de Vil from 101 Dalmatians! It is funny, now we have a teacher that looks like santa claus and one like this haha! This class felt like it dragged on for a century. All that we did was open our textbook, and she went through all of chapter one in a 93 page slide show. Ashley took this class last semester and she said this is how every class is going to be. All I can say is with this new schedule, I will sit through anything! It is so weird, but everybody in college seems so much more accepting. The environment is not like highschool where everybody cares what you look like, how you dress, or how you act. Everybody in college just does not care anymore. I LOVE it!   

Wednesday night, Whit and I made egg-white burritos smothered with Green Chile Verde. You can find the recipe here. The only alteration we made was only adding one can of chicken broth.

Behold! This is one of our favorite new desserts. We took a caramel rice cake and topped it with pb+fluff!  

Then for Thursday morning’s breakfast we used this guy….  

 To make overnight oat’s in a cantaloupe. Whit and I got this idea from the lovely Iowa Girl Eats.

  • 1/2 cantaloupe seeded
  •  1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 container of Siggi’s blueberry greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp. flax
  • 1 tsp. chia
  • blueberries

Just put it in the fridge and top with your faves in the morning! I will definitely be making this again. So chewy, soft, and filling. YUM!

 I must say though, I think it was the Siggi’s yogurt that made this breakfast such a hit! It is literally the creamiest and thickest yogurt around. If it were not so expensive then I would probably buy it every time I went to the grocery store.

 This was yesterday’s snack at school. I ate this right before third period.

This is a definite pick me up bar when you are at school. And such simple ingredients: 

 

 Lunch was prepared pretty fast since we still had to work out and then get to our class.
A good ol’ hearty salad and a Kashi TLC cookie.  

 The salad included:

  • spinach
  • romaine
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • cherry tomatoes
  • purple onion
  • celery
  • goji berries
  • parsley cheese stick cubed
  • Annie’s Asiago dressing

 

Now let’s move on to breakfast today. Three Sisters Cereal provided us with these three cereals to review. This is a healthier option cereal for all ages and is sold at Whole Foods. All of their products are made using renewable energy and contain no trans fat, partially hydrogenated oil or phony flavors. After ripping open each bag right when we got them… they reminded me of all my favorite cereals: Honey Nut Cheerios, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, and Lucky Charms!

 

 

 After trying all of the cereals, Whit and I decided on the Marshmallow Oaties! Unlike Lucky Charms, this cereal did not give me a sugar high and crash. I loved the taste, nutritional stats, and ingredients. So TWO THUMBS UP! 😛

With some almond milk…. PERFECTION!

Of course we had to add in some extra protein.

 

Not only have we received some cereal, but look at the size of this package from Manna Bread! Can you say Carb Heaven, or what? This bread is super healthy and made with Sprouted grains rather than whole grains. The difference is there is a lot more of the Vitamins in this bread than regular while grain breads.

The ingredients that go into this bread are:

 

Our flavors Included:

* Banana Walnut Hemp

* Carrot Raisin

* Cinnamon Date

* Fig Fennel Flax

* Fruit and Nut

* Millet Rice

* Multi-grain

* Sunseed

* Whole Rye

First up to try was Cinnamon Date!

And using their serving tips, we heated it up in the microwave, and topped it w/ some Nut butter(Carmel sunland).

 This bread definitely did not taste as cinnamony and date as I was expecting, but topped with some pb it was perfect alongside this cereal 😉 It has a very cake-like texture too which I liked.

Hope you have a fun-filled Friday!

-Court

 

13 Responses to “~^~Look out General Mills~^~”

  1. Kiki August 27, 2010 at 6:36 PM #

    Man your oats in the hollowed-out cantaloupe look sooo good. Trying that fo sho! I love Siggi’s too, but it’s close to $3 for one container of it here so I can’t get it that much.

    Glad you’re enjoying college and your new schedule!

  2. Sweet Cheeks August 27, 2010 at 6:40 PM #

    You are making me so excited for college next year! I definitely am looking forward to graduating and being done with highschool…it’s just time to move on, ya know?

    Enjoy all of your treats, wish you could share that bread with me!! YUM!

  3. Molly August 27, 2010 at 7:20 PM #

    Still envious of your amazing college schedule… And the yummy samples you get to review! I’m going to be on the hunt for that manna bread now! Bye ladies 🙂

  4. Wei-Wei August 27, 2010 at 7:32 PM #

    I love the fact that you’re sent SO MUCH stuff to review! That bread looks amaaaazing. And overnight oats in cantaloupe? Awesome idea! (Still jealous of you guys’ schedule, by the way…)

  5. pursuitofhealthfulness August 27, 2010 at 10:56 PM #

    I think I would die and go to heaven if I got such great products to review!

  6. Erika August 28, 2010 at 9:38 PM #

    Oooh – Carb Heaven is right! That bread looks amazing – I want to try it! 🙂

  7. Jessica@tastyandtrim August 29, 2010 at 11:58 AM #

    I LOVE peanut butter and fluff! It was my absolute favorite sandwich combo growing up. That Cinnamon Date manna bread sounds amazing! I need to get my hands on some soon 🙂

  8. lisa August 29, 2010 at 7:33 PM #

    your schedule TOTALLY rocks ! I wish mine was like that in high school!
    and the pb&fluff on a rice cake is such a good idea. thats kinda liek what I do- I dip cinnamon sugar soy chips in marshmallow fluff. sooooooo goooood!!! 🙂
    have a good night!

  9. christina August 30, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

    hey girls! that cereal company is sending me some too! can’t wait to try it 🙂 yay for no school on friday…!! 🙂

  10. christina August 30, 2010 at 8:42 AM #

    btw, love the post title, haha!

  11. highonhealthy August 30, 2010 at 10:19 AM #

    The cereals and breads look amazing! I love that the cereal company doesn’t use boxes.

    You had to endure a 93 page slideshow? With more in your future? That’s.. a lot of slideshows. Haha.

  12. Freckled Foodie August 31, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

    i LOVE manna bread!!! the carrot raisin and cinnamon date were my two faves! xo.

  13. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 3, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

    thats the best stuffed cantaloupe ive ever been fortunate enough to see. how the heck did u manage to cram so much in there haha.. its like u gotta eat through the layers to find out 😉 LOVE IT!!

    hope you two are having a fabulous friday!!! XO

Leave a Reply

