The Last Vacation

19 Aug

Guess what we are doing right now?

We’re running loose in the Ameristar Hotel! LOL… JK we are too young to gamble, so we’re lying around in this luxurious sweet watching some movies. It might not sound like much fun to you, but I have having a blast. Sometimes you just need to get out of “suburbia Life”! Ya know what I mean. On Monday, we will be back to our repetitive schedule of waking up early, going to school, working out, hw, sleep, and work on the weekends. I am too worried though because it seems like the more stuff you have going on in your life then the faster the days go by.

Yesterday, we finally let ourselves sleep in, and decided on an afternoon workout instead. That of which was a HIIT 15. It was short, but effective. Being the overnight oat queens that we are, we had “Blueberry Muffin Overnight Oats” today 🙂

  • 1 pkt. instant quaker blueberry muffin oats
  • 6 oz cont. Dannon light n’ fit vanilla
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • blueberries

Top with:

  • 1 slice zucchini bread
  • chopped cinna-sugar almonds
  • Justin’s Honey PB

These oats were glorious and filling. We both were not even hungry until 2:30.

After breakfast we got down to packing, which took a lot longer than anticipated. Court and I basically packed the house. lol. Oh well, better to be overpacked than not have something. When we were finally all packed, it was time to go grocery shopping for some munchies. We made a quick trip to King Soopers and Sprouts and came back with a good variety of loot for everyone. 🙂

As soon as Ash got off work we did our workout, whipped up a quick-lunch and hit the road. We had to eat it in the car so that we could attempt to beat the 5:00 traffic(Yeah that did not happen).

Whit and I somehow happened to keep ourselves sane in the 102 degree weather on the way up! These thins are so yummy, especially because the pb on the bottom was all melted. If you are going to have these for a snack then I would recommend pairing them with some fruit. They were good, but not that filling.

With all the traffic, it took us about 2 hours before we even reached the mountains. When we got here, the line was around the corner to check in. Who woulda thought so many people went gambling in the middle of the week! So Whit and I just sat down and fun taking pictures.

We were in the other room so you cannot even begin to tell how many people there were in line.

This was not even half the junk that we brought!

Finally in the room. THANK GOD FOR THE INTERNET!

We were not on as high of a level this time!

Awww… RELAXATION!

With all of the stuff that we packed, you’d think that we would have remembered the paper plates… NOPE! Everyone was down gambling so Whit and I prepared ourselves dinner. Not too shabby. A turkey sammie with nut thins on top rocks!

And for the side: Cinnamon goldfish and Animal Crackers

These always remind me of being a kid. Whenever we would go grocery shopping with our mom, whit and I would sit in the basket and eat our Animal Crackers. Then when we were done shopping my mom would pay for them. It is weird how some things can bring back so many memories.

Stacked high with a pepperjack slice on the bottom.

The best part of the night had to be watching this movie. I have waited all Summer to see this. And I have gotta say it was worth it. It just wouldn’t be the same if we did not watch a Nickolas Sparks movie while staying in the Ameristar! It was Karstee’s first time seeing this movie and she cried. Us three love chick flicks. Have you guys seen this movie yet? What did you think? I wish Liam Hemsworth was my boyfriend! So cute 😛

This morning’s breakfast involved a package that arrived in the mail yesterday from SunLand PB.

What Makes Valencia Peanuts Unique

Quoted from the website:

“We call them nuts, but like all peanuts, Valencias are legumes, more closely related to peas and beans with one important difference: they grow beneath the ground.

Valencias are smaller, sweeter and have more intense flavor than other varieties of peanuts. They have three to five kernels in each shell and are grown almost exclusively in eastern New Mexico. In fact 90% of the Valencia peanuts produced in the US are grown within 120 miles of our plant. Portales claims the honor of being the “Valencia Peanut Basin of the Nation.”

Farmers plant Valencia peanuts in May in the sandy soil of eastern New Mexico and west Texas. From a single peanut comes a beautiful plant which blooms in late August. Each blossom drops a “peg” which implants itself into the ground to grow a tasty Valencia peanut…more than 20 per plant.

Valencia peanuts love the sandy soil of the Portales valley and the surrounding high plains. After the peanuts are dug in the fall, they dry naturally in the sunny autumn days which are unique to the area. It’s a climate that is vital for the Valencia- a time for the peanuts to be “kissed by the sun” before they’re gathered for processing.”

Whit and I made instant oats for the whole fam. for breakfast this morning! We enjoyed a bowl of Chai Apple Active Lifestyle Oatmeal, topped with Caramel PB. I loved these oats. If you love chai tea then these oats are for you. They have a hint of spice in them! I loved the peanut butter even more though! It has the same texture/ taste of PB loco peanut butter. It just melted perfectly right in the center of the oats. And caramel flavor omg! This was such a decadent bowl of oats. 😛

Today has been mostly been spent by the pool and hot tub. And now I am enjoying this lunch with a Tazo Chai Creme. Yum!

Well I only have the rest of today and tomorrow to soak up the rest of my Summer break and then it is back to a hectic schedule. I know this year is going to be tough, but it is my senior year and I do not want to stress. This is going to be the year that I figure out where I am going in life. I am kinda excited! Whit and I are thinking of just starting at community college for all of our general classes and then moving on to a University. I have not really found any scholarships that apply to me except a few twin ones, but you have to go to college in their state. I do not know where else to look for scholarships. If you guys know of any awesome websites or scholarships, we are all ears!

-Court & Whit

24 Responses to “The Last Vacation”

  1. Amanda (The Nutritionist Reviews) August 19, 2010 at 3:09 PM #

    Seeing about the movie The Last Song made me want to tell you that Miley Cyrus is filming a movie at my old high school this last week called LOL with Demi Moore! I am excited!!

    • CourtandWhit August 19, 2010 at 3:15 PM #

      Oh my gosh, I know I saw on Just Jared Jr. that she was filming another movie. I am so excited. I think she is such an amazing actress. That is so awesome 🙂 That would be so cool if she was filming a movie at my HS! lol

      -Court

  2. Emily August 19, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

    I hope you have fun on your last vacation! I’m delving back into repetition tomorrow…I move into my dorm at college and classes start Tuesday. As far as scholarships go, I applied for about 12 my senior year and only received 2, one of which I turned down. A good website though is fastweb.com. They have oodles of scholarships and you fill out a profile so it can personalize a list of scholarships for you. I never applied for any on that site but they always had ones that looked good. I KNOW there’s a Healthy Living one…it requires a 500 word essay, I think, and it’s $5,000 if you win. I almost applied but didn’t have enough time to make the essay as awesome as I wanted it to be.

    I got my Namaste stuff in the mail yesterday, and I was so happy to see the Say Cheez and Spice Cake! Thanks again you guys…I’ll be bringing both of them to school and will hopefully introduce some of my dorm mates to the greatness of gluten free baked goods and mac n’ cheese. =]

    • CourtandWhit August 19, 2010 at 3:43 PM #

      Wow, I never knew there was a healthy living scholorship. I am looking it up right now! Thanks so much. I am so glad that you got your package. I hope you enjoy your goodies as much as we did. Also if you want some more namaste stuff I saw that they sell it at Target and Whole Foods 🙂
      -Court

  3. Elli @16 and Losing It August 19, 2010 at 3:26 PM #

    Looks like you guys are having a lot of fun! Those oats look crazy good! Enjoy your last vacation!

  4. Katie August 19, 2010 at 4:26 PM #

    I am loving the blueberry oats!!! Look so good! I LOVE how you chop up almonds to add on top! I have got to try that, I love to have a crunch texture with my oats!

    I hope you girls have a great vacation, and it is nice just to be somewhere else instead of home, and just relaxing! Love the pics, you two are so pretty!

    Have fun and enjoy!!

    LOVE goldfish! Did you ever have the smores ones??! They are so good!

  5. Megan G August 19, 2010 at 4:42 PM #

    You guys should check out http://www.fastweb.com. It asks you to create a profile and answer a bunch of questions, and then it pulls up a bunch of scholarships that apply to you. Our school tells all the students to go there for scholarships, it’s great.

    Also, keep your eyes open for small community scholarships. I just won a scholarship from a local organization (I’m going to be a senior this year too), and it was easier to win because it’s not a national scholarship competition so there aren’t as many people applying for it. Also, my credit union and the hospital that my parents work at both offer scholarships, so I’m planning to apply for those scholarships too.

    Whoa, long. I’ve done a lot of scholarship related research. Hope this helps!

  6. pursuitofhealthfulness August 19, 2010 at 7:35 PM #

    Your vacation sounds like/looks like funnnn!

    Just for the record, I think you probably meant your yogurt was 6 oz… 16 oz is a hecka’ lotta’ yogurt!

  7. leianna August 19, 2010 at 7:58 PM #

    OMG I want that peanut butter, yummy! I crave all nut butter on everything right now and when I went home to MN I bought like 4 different kinds and I’m afraid they might only last me a couple of weeks:(
    Have fun on your little mini vacay before the big senior year. I wish I could relive my senior year, so much fun!!!

  8. lisa August 19, 2010 at 8:08 PM #

    ooh! I saw those granola thins at the store- very tempting.. but I think I didnt buy them bc they had like no fiber. I usually like to have a stonyfield yogurt and something else for my afternoon snack- need a little fiber to keep me full!

    enjoy your vacation!! 🙂

  9. Sweet Cheeks August 19, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

    sounds like a great getaway!! Enjoy it girls…it’s back to school on Tuesday for me. Hectic will definitely be the word to describe it!

    I cant wait to see that movie…he is wayyyy too cute!

  10. Bali Desa August 19, 2010 at 11:31 PM #

    very nice 😀

  11. erinsloves August 20, 2010 at 7:36 AM #

    Okay first off I LOVE that black dress/romper not sure which? but so cute w/ the belt!!

    And that blueberry oatmeal YUMM
    Love how you guys plan ahead and bring stuff with you on your travels- I definitely need to start doing that when I go somewhere.

    Love you guys you are such pretty gals!!

  12. Kayla @ kayla.eats.healthy August 20, 2010 at 9:00 AM #

    Wow, hope you two are having fun! I always love family vacations.

    I have been wanting to see The Last Song! Finally it’s on DVD and I can rent it! 😉

  13. Laura August 20, 2010 at 2:12 PM #

    I absolutely love the film! I’m not a huge fan of Miley Cyrus however i really enjoyed the film! I saw it at the cinema but i want to get it on dvd too! glad you enjoyed it too xx

  14. betterwhenweretogether August 20, 2010 at 2:54 PM #

    Wow you girls have alot coming up! Your vacation looks so fun and your eats look amazing as always! Crackers on a sandwhich! That sounds delicious! I’ve gotta try that! My favorite goldfish is the smores goldfish, so delicious! Enjoy yourast day of summer girls! Cute picturesss ❤
    Ashley

  15. tastyandtrim August 20, 2010 at 8:44 PM #

    I just watched the Last Song a couple nights ago and loved it! It is definitely in my top 10 movies 🙂 I tried the chocolate granola thins and they were super tasty but I totally agree with you about them not being very filling. Nice for a quick treat tho!

  16. kbwood August 21, 2010 at 11:45 PM #

    have a blast on vacation sweet girls!

  17. rebecca lustig August 22, 2010 at 8:41 AM #

    i have YET to see the last song but i want to!!

    animal crackers bring a smile to my face– they remind me of being young and naiive and carefree 🙂

    thinking of you!

    hope you have a splendid sunday, dears
    love, becca
    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  18. Olivia August 22, 2010 at 11:20 PM #

    actually, that does sound like a lot of fun! i am super jealous and hope you guys had a great time 🙂 i haven’t seen the last song yet, but i read the book and it was wonderful!

  19. Freckled Foodie August 23, 2010 at 11:52 AM #

    i loveeeeeee whatever it is you’re wearing sitting on the hotel bed! SOOO cute. and i know what you mean. sometimes i wish i could just take a weekend to get away somewhere. even if there is nothing “to do”. i mean really, isn’t vacation all about relaxation anyway??

    those sunland inc pbs are TDF. the banana flavor was my fave! the raspberry is delicious too…oh and the chocolate 🙂 haha.

  20. A Teenage Gourmet August 24, 2010 at 8:10 PM #

    fastweb.com will link you up with lots of scholarships, fast! It’s what I’ll be using.

  21. eatspinlive August 25, 2010 at 2:53 PM #

    I love all of your eats! And the last song=super cute! The oats sound especially delicious!

  22. Robin August 26, 2010 at 4:59 PM #

    Awesome post!!!

    I am originally from the northeastern US (and that’s where I go to school now), but after I graduated high school my parents moved to Colorado! They absolutely love it there, and I have to say that I’ve loved being able to go there on my breaks from school 🙂 I visited them this summer from mid-June to August and spent a few fun days at Ameristar!! It’s funny to see your pictures of it – I can tell exactly where they were all taken.

    PS I once had a dream that I did a workout that involved that biiiig hilly road (I think it’s a service road?) that goes back and forth behind the hotel. (Coming from sea level,) running at altitude is tough enough; doing that hill at the ~8000ft of Blackhawk would be even harder!!

Leave a Reply

