Does healthy agree with your family?

24 Jul

~Saturday July 24th~

Does your family look like this when it comes to healthy eating or exercise?

Source 

I received an email today asking how Whit and I get our family to eat healthy and exercise. We have a big family of seven and pretty much everyone but Whit and I are picky eaters. About two years ago our fridge and pantry was not packed with one healthy thing. Whit and I began reading blogs and buying healthy cooking books. Our mom went full-time at work so that is when dinner became mine and Whits job. It was VERY tough at first because everyone would not want to eat anything we cooked. They did not want to eat healthy… plain and simple. It was the toughest battle. To overcome this battle we started by just taking the unhealthy meals like spaghetti, enchiladas, sloppy joes, ham fried rice, ect. that are mom cooks and “healthified them“.

When we went shopping with our mom we finally convinced her to start buying brown rice instead of white, whole wheat bread, olive oil, egg whites, ground turkey instead of ground beef, skim milk instead of 2%, ect. These were all just small changes that we made over the period of a year. When ever we are cooking we always find some way to make it healthy. Trust me just cook a healthy meal for your family(something that they will eat) and I guarantee they will not know the difference. Our older sister Karstee always has very little time in the morning to get herself to work. So she just used to skip breakfast. One day after getting back from the gym with her we offered to make her a breakfast to go. We just simply poured our egg whites out of the carton into a bowl, microwaved it, toasted a whole wheat english muffin, and poured her some iced coffee. She said it was one of the best breakfast she has ever had. So we showed her how to make it and now she makes it everyday before work.
 
As far as the exercise, my mom went to the doctor last year and discovered that she had EXTREMELY high blood pressure. It was to the point where she could of had a heart attack any minute. This was a big wake up call for her. So her and my dad began walking on the treadmill or doing the elliptical for just 15 min. a day until they built up their stamina to do more. Then they began doing P90X together. It is crazy but they love exercising now. Sometimes all it takes is a wake up call. When my mom told us a year ago that she had high blood pressure, then we all sat her down to talk. We explained to her that she needed to get healthy not only for herself but for her future grandkids. Then she made a commitment. She said that if she could be on bed rest for 9 months with Whit and I then she can get healthy. Now our whole families outlook has changed. They are more open to try different healthy meals. I love it! Now they even request things like tilapia and brown rice, stuffed tomatoes, turkey burgers, ect. 

I never thought that Whit and I could change our family, but we did. It took a lot of time and commitment but we would not have helped them out who knows what could have happened to my mom or if anybody else would have had their health at risk. Our parents do P90x together, we do Turbo Fire with our sister Ashley, and our sister Karstee joined a gym. We all pretty much have somebody to exercise. It is great to exercise together because it is more motivation and you can all hold each other accountable. Also our mom allows Whit and I to go grocery shopping for the family every week. We have a limit of $150 but just as long as we have plenty of coupons we can get something healthy for everyone. It saves her plenty of time since she works full-time and we can get what we need to cook dinner for everyone. It is not going to be easy to get your family on the same page, but do not worry just start small.

Here are some tips when shopping:

  • If your family is short on time like ours then make healthy easy. Buy egg whites in a carton(wal-mart’s great value brand is the cheapest I have found), pre cut romaine in a bag, a mix of veggies in a bag, crystal light packs to go, healthy frozen meals(Amy’s, Healthy Choice, Kashi), protein bars(Luna, Clif, Mojo, Lara), string cheese, 100 calorie packs, yogurt, soup(progresso, amy’s, campbell’s low sodium), frozen waffles(van’s, kashi, nutri grain, lean pockets, instant oatmeal…
  • Do not solely rely on the newspaper coupons every Sunday. Now days with the internet thriving, companies will only put their coupons on their website. Visit your favorite products website to print off coupons. Also http://www.couponmom.com/ has coupons for basically any product at the grocery store.
  • Plan out a few breakfast, lunch, and dinners for the week and make a grocery list. It helps to come up with meal ideas that you can use one product multiple times.  

Tips to get family members motivated to exercise:

  • Buy a workout program and ask them to join you with the program. Beachbody has so many programs to choose from. Also they are designed for all levels. Anybody can modify something to fit their fitness level.
  • After dinner ask if anybody wants to go for a walk.
  • Find active things to do together such as hiking, biking, swimming, yoga, ect.
  • Invest in an exercise machine instead of paying for a gym membership

 

This morning’s breakfast was an egg white sandwich on an Everything bagel thin. For anyone who has never tried an Everything bagel. You MUST! I love them. They have such a strong onion and garlic flavor which I love 🙂

Look at all of those onions, meat, and tomato. I think I pulled a Subway!

And guess what guys you should be proud. Whit and I had cottage cheese on the side. Using Kristi’s idea we blended up Cottage cheese, plain yogurt, sugar-free white chocolate jello mix, stevia, and a little splash of sugar-free syrup. Then topped it with strawberries, Kashi, and Pieces of a Toffee Nut Protein bar. It was awesome 😛

 

For lunch we had a strawberry pea salad with poppy-seed dressing.

So many summer salads you can make…. I love it!

These PB Maple Protein Bars rock… especially with the addition of toffee chips.

 

Dinner- Tofurky Italian Sausage with a veggie salad.

These taste just like a bratwurst!

 Well today was yet another productive day. Whit and I accomplished these tasks:

  • Cancelled our gym memberships
  • Got a free McDonald’s Strawberry Banana Smoothie(one of the healthiest things at McDonald’s!)
  • Bought shoes to match our homecoming dresses for this year
  • Watched our car, vacuumed it and cleaned the inside
  • Did AP Psycology HW
  • Completed Turbo Fire Core 20 and Stretch 40 class
  • Chores

I am so tired. It is time to go and unwind. Catch ya’ll later 😉

-Court

17 Responses to “Does healthy agree with your family?”

  1. kbwood July 24, 2010 at 8:29 PM #

    WOW what a beautiful STORY!! you girls are AMAZING!! goodness! your family will live a longer, healthier life bc of YALL!!!!!
    ive been dying to try the new Mcds smoothies!!

  2. pursuitofhealthfulness July 24, 2010 at 11:35 PM #

    Great advice, girls! I’ve always been fortunate that my family enjoys working out and eating healthy. Still, it’s fun for me to introduce them to new foods/workouts!

    • CourtandWhit July 27, 2010 at 8:02 AM #

      That’s awesome! The only person who we have really got into all the bloggie food is Ashley. She is totally addicted to overnight oats now

  3. Wei-Wei July 24, 2010 at 11:37 PM #

    Wow, you girls are such a great influence! I wish I could influence my family like that 😦 my family are very very skeptical of any “healthy” recipes I make from healthy living blogs like yours (which includes overnight oats and green monsters…D:)

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit July 27, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

      They will come around eventually. Just have them try how good one of youe overnight creations is.

  4. Michal July 25, 2010 at 8:17 AM #

    Good job girls on making healthy changes in your family! 🙂 My family is very unhealthy, and my mom tried to make some healthy changes. But said that it was too expensive, and that in order for me to be able to afford the food i eat she needs to eat junk. Thats so unfair, because the things I eat are very inexpensive and economical. One day I hope she will learn to embrace healthy foods and control her health, but until then I will continue to remind her everytime we eat a meal or go grocery shopping.

    • CourtandWhit July 27, 2010 at 8:06 AM #

      I hear ya. The only “Healthy” thing my mom likes to eat is carrots, or apples. She won’t eat any greens, and that has led her to have some stomach problems. Basically I would say she eats nothing but processed foods.

  5. kristi July 25, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    I’m so glad you guys liked the cottage cheese idea! It is kind of addicting. And full of protein.

    you guys def were productive!! Hope today you wil be able to veg out and relax…thats my plan!

  6. Vanessa July 25, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

    I think it’s great that you encourage your family to eat healthy. My brother and I eat healthy, but the rest of my family eats horrible. I mean we are from the south where it’s biscuits and gravy, fried chicken, and lots of butter! My brothers and I are very active. My mom is not. She hates exercise and don’t even mention the world sugar-free to her. Anyways, I know that I can’t do it for her, but hopefully one day she will want to be healthier. I love your blog!!!

    • CourtandWhit July 27, 2010 at 8:07 AM #

      That is great that you and your brother are healthy around all of those unhealthy temptations. Living in the South sounds tuff.

  7. elaine @ Om Sweet Om July 25, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    This is such a helpful and informative post! Great job on healthifying your entire family!

    Thanks for sharing the couponmom website. Gonna go check it out now!

  8. Laura July 25, 2010 at 1:42 PM #

    Wow, it must be wonderful to have had such an effect on your family and their habits..i’m sure they appreciate it very much! My family are all unhealthy!
    Sounds like a very productive day! xx

  9. Courtney July 25, 2010 at 2:04 PM #

    Great tips! I’ve tried to get my family to eat healthy but they won’t. Now I just have my own shelf where I keep all my food… not that any of them would ever touch it! Those Tofurky sausages look GOOD- I love Italian sausage but hate how they’re so unnatural. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat | cooktoday - July 24, 2010

    […] more here:  Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat Share and […]

  2. Tweets that mention Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat -- Topsy.com - July 24, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erika, Healthy Cooking. Healthy Cooking said: Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat: They are more open to try different healthy meals. I love it! No… http://bit.ly/brHdo4 […]

  3. Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat - July 25, 2010

    […] Read the original here: Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat […]

Leave a Reply

