Bring a lil’ Carrot Cake into your Life!~

23 Jul

Fridays are great aren’t they? Today Court and I were tired, we did not even get up till like 8:30 which felt really late compared to usual.  I was actually up before Court, but then like the nice little sis I am, I woke her up gently with “Good morning Sunshine, Let’s make Pancakes.” LOL. She was all “Whitney I’m tired.” But then I went downstairs started the pot of coffee and as soon as I went back up she was awake. After much debate on which pancakes to make, I came up with Carrot Cake Pancakes. The idea was genius, and here is how they turned out:   

   

 Ingredients   

Serves 2: Makes 7 pancakes(3 1/2 each)~ 1/4 cup mix per pancake 

  1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  1/3 cup Old Fashioned Oats
  1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  1 tsp Cinnamon
  1/4 tsp Nutmeg
  1 tbsp Brown Sugar
  1/4 cup Shredded carrots
  2 tbsp Raisins
  1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  1/4 cup Egg White
  2 tbsp Walnuts
  2 Pineapple Ring Slices

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 2 54 g (3 1/2 pancakes)
 
Amount Per Serving
Calories 295Calories from Fat 58
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 6.5g 10%
Saturated Fat 0.5g 3%
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 286mg 12%
Total Carbohydrates 51.2g 17%
Dietary Fiber 4.5g 18%
Sugars 16.6g
Protein 10.4g
 
Vitamin A 54% Vitamin C 47%
Calcium 12% Iron 26%
Nutrition Grade A
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

    

    

MMM, bite of heaven right there

  Ash wanted us to meet her for lunch today on her break, so She made a HUGE veggie wrap for us all to share, and then we got Froyo at Yogurtland.   

 

 Clock wise: Ash, Mine, Court’s   

   

 My mix:   

  • PB, Vanilla Wafer, Coffee, Carmel Praline Froyo’s
  • White Chocolate chips
  • Pecans
  • Heath Bar
  • Vanilla Wafers

 

   

Court’s Mix:   

  • PB, Duch Cocoa, Cheesecake, Coffee Froyo
  • Brownie pieces
  • cookie dough
  • Coconut
  • Fruity pebbles

   

 Ash’s Mix:   

  • Strawberry Lemonade, and Vanilla Wafer Froyo
  • Fruit
  • Vanilla Wafers

    

  When Ashley and our mom got off work, we all did the Fire 55 EZ class, and it was a fun sweaty mess. After that went to BIG 5 to look for some discounted Hiking boots. If you have not been there in a while, Go! They have got some killer deals on all Fitness equipment. It is like a TJMAXX for Excercise gear. Awesome 🙂 On monday all of us girls are going on a long 8 hour hike. Yikes! Girl’s gotta be prepared for something like that, so some new shoes were in desperate need. Dinner was simply leftovers from lastnight. We were good girlies, and ate the old food first instead of out tonight. Also, btw we searched high and low for the Carrot Cake Larabars today, and still no luck at all, even Whole foods had none!  Court and I have really wanted to go see Ramona and Beesuas. IDK how you spell that. lol. Any who did it come out today? 

Our past with Cottage Cheese has not been a positive one, but we have decided to give it another go. Does anyone have a great recipe or favorite way to use Cottage cheese? Also, share your best and favorite pancake recipes. Perhaps we will make them next Friday.  

  Fun-Fact-Friday~~

 

 For our sixteenth birthday, I threw a big surprise Party for Court with all of our BFF’s. It was 80’s themed, and everyone dressed up. We did karaoke, watched 16 candles, and even the cake was some old school records. Here is a pic from that night: 

 

 

 

 

 Ha ha, fun times! Well TTYL 🙂  

 XOXO WHIT-A-NAY 

             
25 Responses to “Bring a lil’ Carrot Cake into your Life!~”

  1. Courtney July 23, 2010 at 9:27 PM #

    Yum! Those yogurts look delish- and your party sounded so fun!! Have a great weekend! =)

  2. Sweet Cheeks July 23, 2010 at 9:28 PM #

    okay just keep torturing me with that fro yo!!!! It looks so good! I really wish there was a place like that around here. All the more reason to visit you guys in Colorado, haha. 🙂

    I actually really like cottage cheese, especially sweet versions. I like mixing it with greek yogurt, vanilla stevia, and a bit of sugar free pudding mix powder. It is so good! Sometimes I blend it in my Magic Bullet, which is awesome, too. Top with peanut butter and you’ve got major deliciousness!!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

      I know, if we ever have a meet-up here, we will take you to yogurtland. lol k? We LOVE your cottage cheese ideas. Thanks tons!!! This morning we used your idea and mixed yogurt with cottage cheese, stevia, and the sugar free jello mix. Up next PB.

  3. healthyhelper July 23, 2010 at 9:51 PM #

    i love having cottage cheese mixed with pumpkin and cinnamon and topped with raisins , or topped with pineapple, or frozen blueberries. it works well with savory toppings as well, like hummus and cucumber….tomato is also delicious on top with some salt and peppa!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:38 PM #

      Woah, your ideas sound crazy good! Pumpkin with it sounds great.

  4. kbwood July 23, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

    SOO adorable ladies!
    I LOVE TJ MAXX! AND pancakes AND froyo!! SOOO i basically LOVE this post! have an amazing weekend!

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 23, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

    everyones making pancakes these days! but i dont mind, im so excited!! i really want to make these soon. gonna save the recipe so i have it ready! they look SO TASTY!!!

  6. elaine @ Om Sweet Om July 23, 2010 at 11:01 PM #

    Those are some awesome-looking pancakes! The stats are amazing too!

    Guess what? I made pancakes this morning too! Check out my recent post for recipe 🙂

  7. pursuitofhealthfulness July 24, 2010 at 12:07 AM #

    You’re sister is so lucky you pulled off a surprise birthday party for her! Those are always the best.

    Those pancakes look awesome. I have a love affair with carrots.

    As a total PB addict, I love to make “Elvis Cakes” with PB, ‘Naner and cinnamon. Yummmm.

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

      Elvis Which’s are the best, so I bet Pancakes are even better.

  8. Liadan July 24, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    OMG Yoghurtland? That’s amazing! As so is Starbucks! Why don’t we have such things in Holland? 😦

  9. Molly @ mollyrunsfresh July 24, 2010 at 1:34 AM #

    First of all, as a lover of my grandmas homemade carrot cake, those pancakes look absolutely scrumptious. Second of all, I ❤ cottage cheese. I add it plain to salads for protein, stir into my yogurt for texture. Add cocoa powder and Stevia then microwave for a chocolatey treat, or put in the blender with strawberries and stevia for a cheesecake shake. So many possibilities!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:46 PM #

      Great ideas, esp. the cheesecake shake. We will give em’ a try. Thanks Molly 🙂

  10. Amanda (The Nutritionist Reviews) July 24, 2010 at 6:37 AM #

    Carrot cake pancakes seem like a great idea! Yummy yet healthy!

  11. Errign July 24, 2010 at 6:54 AM #

    Don’t go for a long hike in brand new hiking boots – it will tear up your feet! Try to break them in a ton before you go – walk in them as much as possible.

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

      Thanks for the advice. Now we’re gonna wear them all day till it’s time to hike. lol

  12. Wei-Wei July 24, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    Those pancakes sound absolutely amazing!! And that party sounds sooo fun. You both are so creative!! Try the healthy spelt pancakes for one from OSG, but make them for two, obviously! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:48 PM #

      oh yeah I saw that recipe, and actually thought about making them.

  13. Megan July 24, 2010 at 8:17 AM #

    Your pancakes look YUMMY and the Fro-Yo does too. It makes me want to go out and get some.

    I really like cottage cheese. I think the brand you buy also plays a role in how the taste is.
    I like adding mine to apple sauce and adding cinnamon, craisens, and fruit into the mix. I also just tried it in oatmeal. I know Kath from katheats.com (which I know you guys have read from seeing some of her stuff she makes on here) puts cottage cheese in her oatmeal as well. Oh, and it’s also really good on salad’s!

  14. teenagehealthfreak July 24, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    what a cool b-day!! I’ve been hearing so much about that larabar!! I really wanta try it now!! have a good weekend! 🙂

  15. mysweetseason July 24, 2010 at 10:25 AM #

    Ahh I’ve been in fro-yo craaaze mood since I’ve gotten to the US! I’ve had wayyyy too much of it!

  16. mapledreams July 24, 2010 at 2:19 PM #

    The froyo looks amazing! xx

  17. lisa July 24, 2010 at 7:46 PM #

    hey!
    Im sooo jealous you have YogurtLand by you. that place looks awesome! I looked at the store locater, and no where by me 😦 !
    anyway-
    I’m so happy you posted that question about cottage cheese! I’m having a little bit of a hard tiem with it too. Although I really LOVE the Friendship 1% cottage cheese with pineapple. so so SO good. I also like I think it’s by Friendship too, it’s whipped cottage cheese. I had that with a big spooonful of Polaner all fruit jelly (strawberry) and it was really tasty.
    other than that, I’m at a loss with cottage cheese too!
    and your pics look awesome! you two are so pretty =)

  18. Chef Dennis July 24, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

    carrot cake pancakes sound delicious….yours looked great!! looks like you had a few other really good things to eat too!

Leave a Reply

