It was a carb kinda day!

22 Jul

~THURSDAY July 22nd~

Hey guys 😛

Even though Whit and I did not have work today we woke up early(what the heck!?!). I know, but we have a commitment, that is Ash, Whit and I. We bought Turbo Fire so that we could do it together. We are each others buddy system which means we have to schedule our workouts so that it works for all of us. Ash had to be to work early so we got up early. It is kind of nice having a group to work out with. It gives you motivation to push harder, they hold you accountable for your workouts, and you are more likely to work out. I love it! We completed the 15 HITT  and 30 sculpt class.

Breakfast was a very decadent bowl of oats!

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 1/2 cup water
  • chia
  • flax
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tbs. sugar-free Torani vanilla syrup

Top with:

  • 1 tbs. sugar-free white choc. instant pudding(mix with 2 tbs. of water in bowl & pour over)
  • blackberries
  • mango slices
  • 1/2 banana nut vita top
  • spoonful white choc. wonderful pb

 

Lunch was a homemade pizza on a whole wheat alternative pita. We also had some fruit and green beans.

 

When we went grocery shopping with our mom today we got these. They are awesome! I already had 2 today. YUM 🙂 I do not know what it is about these cookies, but Alberton’s makes the best fresh-baked cookies. Everytime we get them they are always so soft and perfect. And they are even better if you heat them up in the microwave.

 

Dinner tonight was something that I came up with one day and have been thinking about for weeks! You remember the Al Fresco Chicken Sausage that we tried for the first time a few weeks back. Well I came up with so many things you could use it for. And so I present you to… 
Chicken Sausage Gnocchi

 

We started by boiling a big pot of water. Then we threw in the gnocchi for 3-4 min. We had two different kinds so we just mixed the two together.

Then we drained the gnocchi into a colander. Next we took out a skillet and sautéed some onions, spinach, cherry tomatoes, garlic, and evoo. Then we threw in the diced chicken sausage, and poured this Cheesy Ragu sauce on top!

Then top it with a little salt and pepper…

Mix it all together… and voila dinner is served!

Something that compliments this meal well is Texas Toast.

And you can never forget your greens!

This was probably the most easiest, gourmet meal to prepare. Your welcome! 😉

I swear strawberry salads are the best kind there are in the Summer.

I ate this last… so that I could pick up all of the leftover sauce on my plate. lol

 It has been a carb kind of a day but whatever it was just one of those kind of days.

QOD: Who is somebody that you admire or aspire to be?

 

I admire Giuliana Rancic! She is so beautiful, talented, and she has got my dream job! 

She works for E! News as a reporter. Whit and I were news anchor/reporters for our school news called “The Real Deal” for three years in junior high. It was a blast! I loved coming up fun stories to talk about and interviewing everyone. I would love to be an RD, but ultimately this would be my dream job 🙂 

 She is also married to Bill Rancic, who is from season one of the Apprentice. They have this beautiful house in California…

and this one in Chicago. How awesome would it be to live in two states!?!

Well anywho she also has a blog called FabFitFun! She gives some awesome advice in beauty, fashion and fitness. Well I am off to watch some more old school 90210.

❤ Court

16 Responses to “It was a carb kinda day!”

  1. Sweet Cheeks July 22, 2010 at 8:23 PM #

    carb kinda days = best kind of days. 😉

    Your dinner looks so good…i wish I could have eaten it too! I will have to it for sure. It has been too long since I’ve had my beloved gnocchi!

    I think it’s awesome that you all workout together. Exercising with someone else definitely is a great source of motivation. I need to try it more often…maybe I can get my sister out to the gym once I get over mono!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

      You should ask her to workout with you. Having your sisters, makes the workout more fun and then you have someone to talk to so that you don’t always have to blare an ipod in your ear. lol

  2. jqlee July 22, 2010 at 9:46 PM #

    woo hoo. love her too! and all the carbs for today. i haven’t had real pasta in so long and when i had it in NYC last week…woooo weee. reminded me why i dont eat it often. it sooo good i can STUFF myself with LOTS of it. haha.

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:25 PM #

      oh belive me, we can totally relate. That’s why it is just a good treat every once in a while. Pasta is like a good home hearty comfortable dish.

  3. elaine @ Om Sweet Om July 22, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

    carbs are the best! how killer does that cheesy ragu sauce look? 🙂

  4. kbwood July 22, 2010 at 10:15 PM #

    ive never had gnocci!! It sounds SO GOOD THO!! soo doughy!!! love those oats! CARB DAYS RULE!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:27 PM #

      OMG, never had Gnocchi? Get yourself some the next time you go to the store! It is the best. So soft, like little piecey of doughy bread or potato.

  5. Liadan July 23, 2010 at 4:17 AM #

    That pita-pizza looks delicious, gotta try that soon!

    Oh and very nice blog of Giuliana Rancic!

  6. therabbitrunner July 23, 2010 at 7:30 AM #

    carb days = my favorite kind of day 🙂
    WOW so gnocchi with alfredo sauce!? HECK YES!! wow that dinner looks so good – just like a restaurant! I wish I could have garlic bread though…lets just say I don’t smell good after eating it haha. You guys should seriously think about majoring in cooking!

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:29 PM #

      Thank you, that is a nice compliment to hear. Sometimes we can make gourmet. lol. And you can’t beat easy gourmet meals.

  7. Molly July 23, 2010 at 7:54 AM #

    I love my carby days… it gives me lots of energy to run though! And about the strawberry salad? I’ve been all about those this summer. I eat them with at least one of my meals everyday! By the way, what is gnocci?

    • CourtandWhit July 24, 2010 at 6:30 PM #

      Gnocci is a pasta that is doughy, soft and delish. The inside is filled with potato

  8. Wei-Wei July 23, 2010 at 9:27 AM #

    Caaaaaaaaaaaaaarbs! Woot. Ah well, we all have our days 😉 My role model… I don’t know actually. Maybe most of the bloggers I follow? 😉

    Wei-Wei

  9. Erika July 23, 2010 at 9:41 AM #

    Mmmm…I have to try that sausage gnocchi dish soon!

  10. mapledreams July 23, 2010 at 1:31 PM #

    Carb days = best days;)
    It must be so amazing having a little group to work out with..espescially when you are all so motivated! I’d love to be able to have a sister or even a random family member who could do things like that with me!
    What a yummy looking lunch xx

  11. betterwhenweretogether July 23, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

    Cherish the carb cravings teens gotta have energy righttt! 🙂 your eats look amazing as usual and I love gunncis haven’t had them in ages! Hope all is well ❤

Leave a Reply

