What has fitness done for you?

20 Jul

“You know that high you get after working out…. fitness is your drug and we are here to support you in your new addiction”

Wow! The Turbo Fire workouts have been so amazing lately… that it has driven us to think about possibly cancelling our gym membership. It is not that great of a gym in all honesty. Fitness 19 is cheap. You get what you pay for. It has the bare minimum it takes to get a workout done, it is stuffy(that place needs a lot more ventilation), they never turn on the AC, it smells bad, is kind of dirty, ect. Over the past year our whole family has really gotten into fitness and we have sort of built up our own home gym. In our parent’s GIANT master bedroom there is a treadmill and elliptical and a nice tv up on the wall to watch. Then in the garage we have a bench press. Then we just got our whole basement finished and that area is cleared out with a tv also mounted to the wall for working out. The whole family does the variety of Beach Body workouts we own down there. Also we have swiss balls, different hand weights, resistance bands, Bowlflex Select Tech Dumbells, chin up bar, ect. We have EVERYTHING you could possibly need to workout. Not to mention all of the wonderful trails around our neighborhood. When school starts there is going to be no time to drive to the gym. We are going to have to go to school, college classes a few nights a week, and work. I think we have put it to great use, but now our membership would just be a waste of money. I know how to work out at home. This is going to save me a lot more time, and money. Plus I can use the weights and things at home and well not have to deal with the stink eye I get from older people at the gym(They always do not believe Whit and I when we tell them we are 17). Now I can just break a sweat in the comforts of my own home instead of some stinky gym. 🙂 

Anywho what are your guys thoughts? Do you think we are making the right choice? Do you have a gym membership?

Oh and by the way if you are wondering where that quote is from, it is just one of the many inspirational quotes that Chalene Johnson says in Turbo Fire.

 

Well we took a few days off to get some things(AP Psychology Summer HW, chores, giving our rooms a facelift, ect.) done. Sometimes you just need a little break to recuperate and unplug. Ya know what I mean? We did not take a picture of everything in the past three days, but here are just some random eats 😛  

 **VERDICT: Do not ask me how but this is the only protein bar that I have EVER eaten that actually has the same texture and taste as Reese’s PB. I was in PB heaven. This actually was a dessert one night! It definitely satisfied the sweet tooth.  

 

 We were feeling a little fruity… which meant a GIANT yogurt mess! YUM yum. I was even feeling a little spontaneous and threw some Cap’ n’ Crunch in there.

 

I was browsing through all of Meg’s wonderful recipes and came across something I HAD to make Berry Patch Oats! Thanks girly 🙂

 

Then what would a week be without Maple Coffee Oats! This time we even added a little bit of hot cocoa mix into it to make it chocolatey. This was probably the best combo yet for these oats.

 

A big plate of greens was enjoyed on our new deck today. My dad hand-built that by the way. Isn’t it beautiful! I love it. I have been outside so much now. All of us sistas talked out there for hours last night.

Here is closer pic. That is half a cheddar bratwurst in the salad btw. This salad ROCKED! 

 

 Honey wheat+ Italian Herb bagel = 😉

 There is also some egg whites and pizza sauce of course. Weird, but incredibly good.

 

Today was our mom and dad’s 22nd anniversary so Whit and I made brownies. They were the boxed kind(I know what a disappointment) to say the least, but we still substituted the oil for egg whites and apple sauce. I can never say no to a warm brownie, so this was enjoyed with some fluff and caramel sauce swirled on top.

 And a vanilla steamer on the side. It was rainy and kind of chilly all day so this was the perfect time for a steamer.

 Who knew you could fool your parents by cutting the fat and cholesterol out of a treat they love so much?! lol.

 

And finally for tonight’s dinner, Whit and I enjoyed burger style wraps.

 For the sauce we combined:

  • 1 tsp. ketchup
  • 1 tsp. mustard
  • 1 tsp. franks hot sauce
  • 1 swiss laughing cow wedge

Then we just simply cooked up a Boca Brushetta Burger Patty and diced up some pickle. SO SIMPLE! Try it 😉

 A lot have you have been asking how we created our new header. Well we cannot take credit for that wonderful masterpiece. Wei Wei over at ;yum actually offered to create it for us. She is one talented little lady, and I am sure she would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

 

Before I go…

Our sister Ashley which you all have read about over and over again is our number one reader. She reads all of your lovely comments and now she has a question for you. Have you had a fitness transformation/revelation? What made you want to get healthy, and how have you done so? She loves reading about this stuff, it helps her as a coach! So if you have a story you would like to share than don’t be shy 🙂 You can email her at amaughan1@yahoo.com

-Court

22 Responses to “What has fitness done for you?”

  1. kbwood July 20, 2010 at 10:44 PM #

    Aww what sweet daughters making ur parents brownies! SO SWEET 🙂 the hot chocolate addition to the maple oaties ROCKS! what a great idea!!!!!!

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 10:55 PM #

      I know!!! We still can’t get over how good your recipe is lol. And it never gets old.

  2. jqlee July 20, 2010 at 11:46 PM #

    nothing wrong with boxed brownies. maybe a little more sugar but honestly its the same. and seriously who can say no to warm brownies?? mmm…

    tell your sis that for me, it was about looking good at first but once i put the efforts into eating well and working out so hard, the health aspect just “clicked” and made sense. now it’s about living an overall healthy lifestyle, not just dieting and exercising to look a certain way.

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 10:57 PM #

      I know, and a brownie is just good anyway every once in a while, even if it means that it is boxed. She loved your outlook on fitness. Thanks Jessica. You are a beautiful inspiring girl.

  3. pursuitofhealthfulness July 21, 2010 at 12:41 AM #

    I am so jealous of the home gym you guys have put together! Right now I am taking serious advantage of my university’s rec center. It has everything I need!

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 10:59 PM #

      Good for you! Making use of all resources is the best way for an effective workout

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 21, 2010 at 6:55 AM #

    wow my first protein bar was suprisingly good, it was the genisoy brans, but it never tastes like reese’s unfortunately!! lol

    brownie and a vanilla steamer!!! thats incredible!!

    fitness has changed my life. can you imagine what our world would be like without it? no, dont even try to imagine actually, its too depressing lol.

    you girls have the best ideas, and your home gym is the best! ❤

  5. Rachel (tea and chocolate) July 21, 2010 at 8:15 AM #

    Your home gym sounds great! I have a gym membership, but if I had all that equipment, I think I’d just workout at home. Saves money and a drive.

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 11:00 PM #

      Were really starting to see the same mindset you have. Working out at home seems stress-free, and saves money. And as a plus no one is staring at you. lol

  6. Elli @16 and Losing It July 21, 2010 at 8:51 AM #

    It sounds like you have an awesome home gym! If you don’t like your gym AND you don’t think you will have the time to go during the school year, I would just end it. ITs probably not even worth the money!

    That brownie looks delish as does all your other food! 😛

    Elli

  7. Wei-Wei July 21, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

    Wow, you guys have an awesome home gym! I think you definitely have enough equipment to cancel the membership – for you guys, working out at home is probably BETTER than at the gym!

    Wei-Wei

    PS: Thank you for the credits. <3!

  8. Nicole July 21, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    You girls make me want a sister so badly! We don’t have gym memberships because we also have an at-home gym — i.e. a treadmill in front of a TV and huge fan. Ideally, we are going to add an elliptical but I LOVE being able to workout at home — I wouldn’t change a thing. And it’s definitely cheaper in the long-run!

    Ashley – I think it’s important to find something you can challenge yourself with and if you have any grain of competitiveness in you, it’ll take off! When I started running, I hated it. I went one block the first day. The second day I went 1.3 blocks…and by the end of summer I was running over 3 miles and I loved it!

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 11:03 PM #

      Thanks Nicole, your words sound like a true coach. Have you thought about becoming a Beachbody Coach?

  9. lisaou11 July 21, 2010 at 11:20 AM #

    If you love working out at home and it’s going great for you then do it! I say do what works and what you enjoy!

    turbofire really does look like tons of fun!

  10. freckledfoodie July 21, 2010 at 12:32 PM #

    Chocolite ROCKS. I loved them, too!

    That cheesy ketchup mustard sauce looks really yummy though for a burger wrap! 🙂

  11. mapledreams July 21, 2010 at 1:10 PM #

    Sounds like a scrummy bar!! xx

  12. Julie July 21, 2010 at 2:45 PM #

    Ok, so I’m probably more the age of your parents (or older?)…last year, I gave up my gym membership. I’ve been a member of some pretty decent gyms for 20+ years. I also have a home gym that’s been built over that period of time which means it’s pretty much to die for but the reason I gave up paying for a gym membership was Beachbody. Their programs are complete and are designed to help you stay committed to your workout program. That means results! Keep up the good work.

    • CourtandWhit July 23, 2010 at 11:05 PM #

      We do all the beachbody workouts, and totally love them. Our sister just became a coach like you. Have you had a lot of Beachbody sucess yet?

  13. Courtney July 21, 2010 at 3:18 PM #

    I like my gym membership- my gym is nice and has a pool! You two are lucky to have such great stuff at home! =)

  14. lisa July 21, 2010 at 7:56 PM #

    I think you’ll be fine without a gym membership! not only will you save money, but you have each other (your sister) to motivate, and you have ALL that cool stuff! If anything, if there are nearby fitness classes you can always do those every once in a while to change it up.
    i’m personally not a fan of the gym. I like Jari Love videos and free weights, and I also enjoy Tae Bo videos and kickboxing classes for cardio. I like to balance it out, but I’m not much of an actual “gym” goer. But hey, that’s just me!
    As for fitness,
    I just like doing it for me. I think it’s fun and I love being strong and in shape. I always feel great after a workout! 🙂

  15. Michal July 21, 2010 at 8:07 PM #

    Ah you are so lucky you have a home gym! I pay sooo much for my gym memberships every year, but I love my fitness.

    Actually fitness and health has done so much for me. I used to be extremely overweight. I was so unhealthy, and learning to train my body and discovering all of the wonderful things that i could do was life changing for me!

  16. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey July 29, 2010 at 7:30 PM #

    I definitely have mixed feelings about the gym. Usually I prefer to get exercise outside, in the fresh air, but the equipment and the accessibility of a gym just can’t be beat. I tend to feel silly and out of my league, but I recently discovered the ladies’ workout room in the back. The only people that go there are moms, old ladies and teenage girls, so it’s perfect! I don’t feel dumb for setting the machines lower, and it’s much more relaxed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

