Camera’s for dummies please!

4 Jul

Sunday July 4th!

Man! This has been an awesome weekend 🙂

 

Friday night, our family went up to the mountains to stay at the Ameristar in honor of my mom’s “49th” b-day(lol she thinks). Our mom is one hard-core gambler. Already this year she has gotten sent vouchers for a free room, and she never has slept in it once. She will literally get to the room set her suitcase down and gamble all day and night. Then the next day when it is time to leave… she finally comes up to the room and gets her suitcase to leave. This woman goes to sleep every night at 7:30 because she has to wake up at 3 in the morning, but when she goes gambling sleep is not an option for her. Luckily, this time we were out of school so we got to enjoy the hotel instead(since we are not 21 and all lol)!

 

 When our dad and older sister Karstee got home from work, we drove up to meet our mom and Ash. Of course it had to be blistering hot the whole way up and the traffic was out of the wazoo because of the holiday weekend. When we finally approached the hotel at the bottom of the mountain it just glimmered. It was the biggest hotel in the whole gambling city! Unfortunately, Whit and I have not figured out how to adjust our DSLR camera to darkness… so the majority of the pictures on this post just came from the internet. But trust me they are 100% accurate photos! 

 Look how friggen huge this hotel is!

 

This was our bathroom in the hotel room. It was very spa like! I took a shower after swimming. It was so nice 🙂
Can you see Whit in the mirror?

 

 I have never stayed in such a spacious room. This bed and the pillows were so heavenly. I wanted to buy them! There were giant duvets on the bed too… which added to the comfort. I used to have a duvet, but it lost most of its’ feathers and they are so expensive that I have not bought another one since.
Do any of you guys own a duvet for your bed?

 

 

After we dropped off our bags it was getting late and we were HUNGRY! So we went downstairs and ate at the buffet. This was one pricey buffet at $19.99 a person… but the food was totally worth it! Whit and I being the foodie bloggers that we are. We had an entrée plate and a dessert plate. Of course since there were sooo many choices of good food, we narrowed it down to the few things that we were craving most and had a few bites of everything. Overall my favorite entrée was the chile verde taco I had and my favorite dessert was apple pie with vanilla ice cream. Pretty much everyone in our family except Whit and I felt sick after dinner. Why… do  you ask? Because portion control is key. If you are going to eat at a buffet then do not go crazy!

 

After din din, Whit, Karst, and I went back to the room to let our bellies settle while the rest of the gang went back to gambling. Once we were all settled then it was time to hit up the POOL! I wore my favorite Juicy Couture shirt(thank you Ashley!) over my suit while we walked through the halls.

 

This was the giant pool on the roof of the hotel! In the very back is just one of the hot tubs that was there. The other one was out on the patio.  

 

Sorry for the terrible pictures! Hopefully I will figure this camera out soon 😛

Since we were up in the mountains, the air is kind of crisp at night so we also enjoyed ourselves by the warm fire pit!

 

After swimming, we went back to the room, took showers, and were still not TIRED! It was getting super late, but I swear the city is like NYC… nobody sleeps. So we headed down to the lobby and sat by the fire while we all read magazines. It ws so relaxing!

Sooner than later though… reading was the thing that all made us tired so we went up and fell asleep.

 

In the morning before we left we woke up and had Starby’s Perfect Pot of Oatmeal while we watched the Nickolas Sparks movie. It was so cute! I just love romantic movies. I hate how his movies never have happy endings though 😦

 

 Well we had a BBQ last night and I ate the same exact thing again tonight.
Pictured is a turkey burger on a whole wheat bun and a fruit salad! The best combo eva.

This salad was inspired by the one Whit and I both had at the Ameristar. It has mandarin oranges, purple onion, pecans, and raspberry vinaigrette.

Hurry better get yourself a burger before this holiday is over! lol. 

 

This morning Whit and I wanted to have a festive looking breakfast. So we made…
Oatgurt Trifles!

We do not have trifle’s, so a bowl that we layered the ingredients in had to do.

 IN THE TRIFLE:

  • 1/4 cup of cooked old-fashioned oats(w/ a splash of vanilla extract)
  • 1 container of strawberry yogurt
  • 1/2 cup of berries(we had raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, and blackberries)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1 tbs. pb

 

 

Whit and I packed our fav. Lean Pockets and plums for lunch at work today. This is truly the best Lean Pocket ever. If you guys have not tried the Garlic Chicken White Pizza then give it a try 😉

 

 Right now it is raining cats and dogs, there are a billion tornado warnings all over Colorado, and Fireworks are illegal here… so I guess I will be watching the fireworks on TV this year. This is so weird because this is the first 4th of July where it is raining for me. It kinda sucks, oh well! I am just going to have to suck it up and enjoy the rest of this fabulous holiday.

But before I go, I have to tell you about the Mecca of all S’mores that I had last night.
I used a COOKIES ‘n’ CREAM Hershey’s bar instead of the ordinary milk chocolate. It was literally the best S’mores I have ever eaten. Since it is Summer, you guys best be getting to making some S’mores. Have you ever made S’mores different that than the ordinary? If so, how!?  

 TTYL!

-COURT

23 Responses to “Camera’s for dummies please!”

  1. Molly July 4, 2010 at 7:14 PM #

    OMG a cookies n’ cream s’more sounds amazing! It is raining where I live too but that doesn’t stop us! There are fireworks going off everywhere. The only wierd way I’ve made a s’more is when my friends and I were desperately craving them at a sleepover so we roasted mini-marshmallows over a candle and used vanilla wafers and mini hersheys. They were sooooo good!

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:02 PM #

      Haha! I have made s’mores under a candle too. Vanilla wafers sound bomb in a s’mores 🙂

      -Court

  2. Rachel (tea and chocolate) July 4, 2010 at 7:54 PM #

    Looks like your mom had an awesome birthday! That is the biggest hotel pool I’ve ever seen.

    I’ve made s’mores with a Reese’s before. Really good!

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:04 PM #

      Omg that sounds even better than a Hershey’s bar. I LOVE peanut butter! It was a HUGE POOL and the best part was it was 5-6 ft. all the way across so I could actually walk across the whole pool lol.

      -Court

  3. Hannah July 4, 2010 at 9:14 PM #

    That sounds like a great birthday! The hotel sounds so amazing, and my dad is quite the gambler too! We all had to tell him to stop betting when he was ahead at the horse races today! And that buffet-so jealous!

    And that cookie’s n’ cream Hershey’s bar. I cannot eat them anymore, one time I ate 2 king-sized ones in literally 5 minutes at sleepaway camp, bc I had ordered it from the canteen, and when it was delivered, it was melting. The worst stomachache EVER.

    Have a great day!
    xoxoxo
    Hannah

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:06 PM #

      Our dad is the exact same way! I have never had the King size bar before, but that sucks that you cannot have it anymore. They are too good to not have haha!

      -Court

  4. Natalie July 4, 2010 at 11:55 PM #

    ahhh luxurious hotel rooms & pools & buffets?! what an awesome life! hope you girls have had a great weekend! love the parfait that you made too… yummy & healthy – great combo!

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:07 PM #

      I know! I wish that I could live that way every day 😛

      -Court

  5. Wei-Wei July 5, 2010 at 2:52 AM #

    Your s’mores sound SO good with the Cookies n Cream choc! Sounds like you guys had an awesome mini-vacation! Happy birthday to your mom, by the way. Did she like the cake? 😉

    BTW I was thinking about making a pretty header picture for you guys. If you’re interested then can you send me a full-size photo of you two by email? As much as I love plain simple “Cohitney” I think I can make it a lot prettier 😉 Email me!

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:09 PM #

      She thought the cake was so adorable. She even wanted to eat the fake drumsticks and we were like “No mom… those are just for looks!” lol

      We’d love for you to make us a header. Our blog is kind of under construction right now… if you cannot tell 🙂 I will look at pics tonight and email you! Thanks so much!

      -Court

  6. Sweet Cheeks July 5, 2010 at 7:56 AM #

    wow that hotel looks uhhhmazing! It’s so nice to get away and feel pampered. Love the huge pool too.

    hope you girls have a great Monday!

  7. mysweetseason July 5, 2010 at 9:54 AM #

    Your hotel looks great! Love the trifle! I might attempt one myself!

    Don’t worry I have hard time with my DSLR too 🙂 I bought this Photography magazine that really helps though!

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:11 PM #

      I cannot wait to see your trifle! I read the whole DSLR handbook… but I guess I will have to give the magazine a try. What is the magazine called?

      Thanks for your help btw!

      -Court

  8. Laura July 5, 2010 at 12:19 PM #

    wow. THAT IS ONE AMAZING HOTEL! the bathroom is hugeeeeee xx

  9. kaila July 5, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

    i make the BEST (different) smores ever! what you do is take chocolate graham crackers, spread with natural PB, top with a mallow and a piece of hersheys special dark chocolate, cook it up, and you will have the best smore you have ever eaten! you must try this one out!!! 🙂

    looks like you guys had a really fun time!

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:12 PM #

      Oh man… that sounds like heaven. PB+Dark chocolate = 🙂

  10. Meg July 5, 2010 at 4:37 PM #

    Wish I could help ya’ll with the cam – but I can’t 😦 I’m sure you are smart enough to figure it all out though 😉

    The trip looks amazing, and I LOVE THAT HERSHEY’S BAR! I am totally jealous of that pool and hotel, and buffets are pretty sweet too 😀 They have great dessert at the buffet where my fam and I vacation.

    Hooray for an amazing weekend!
    Love ya!
    Meg

    • CourtandWhit July 5, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

      Where do you and your family vacation at?

      -Court

  11. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey July 5, 2010 at 5:23 PM #

    Happy 4th! sounds like you had fun in Las Vegas. That hotel room looks INCREDIBLE. Wow.

    Wow, that trifle looks delish! And what a great idea to use cookies & cream instead of the normal. I bet it was wonderful. 🙂

  12. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey July 5, 2010 at 5:26 PM #

    Lol woops, you weren’t in Las Vegas. My bad. I read gambling and immediately associated it with Vegas. 😛

  13. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 5, 2010 at 6:31 PM #

    you two are freaking adorable!! haha who wouldve let u run wild in a hotel like that 😛 hehe ❤

Leave a Reply

