Lot’s of errands… but good eats!

1 Jul

Thursday July 1st

Hey Guys!

Well we attempted to do yet another early morning workout today… but when that alarm went off, Whit, Ash, and I all agreed we were way too tired to do anything. So we all went back to sleep instead. It is ok though because I got plenty of exercise in with my chores, and the long list of errands that Whit and I ran. It was literally an all day event. Plus if I would have actually done the work out, then I probably would not have pushed it as hard just because of how exhausted I am.

 

We did not have time to make breakfast this morning, so we picked up McDonald’s for our mom and us and met her at her work by 9:30. Then the three of us cruised over to the Picture Studio to check out the senior pics. we took yesterday and weed out the bad ones. Let me tell ya this was a long process. Now I know how models must feel. They have to spend the whole day getting ready to shoot, take a gazillion photos, then have to go back through and pick the best ones. Now the photos we picked have to get retouched and cropped, and Tuesday we go back to buy the ones we want. I am so excited!!! I cannot wait to show you guys them. We took our pictures at the most gorgeous park 🙂

Egg McMuffin is always a classic!

Whit and I just had to get iced coffee as well. It would not be right to have an egg sandwich without iced coffee. And plus McDonald’s has bomb coffee. You cannot beat $1.99 for a medium. I honestly cannot tell the difference from Starby’s.

 

When we left the studio, it was about lunch time. So we came home and made the best darn sandwich ever!!!
Oh and we could not choose whether to put it on rice pecan bread or apple cinnamon, so why not have a slice of both. lol 😛

Let me introduce you to a Peanut Butter Fluff Sammie.

All we did was spread a little bit of pb and some marshmallow fluff and voila.  

 

 

One of the things Whit and I did off of the list of errands today, was grocery shop for our mamma. She always makes a general list and then lets us pick up a few extra things that we want. So while shopping around at Albertson’s today we stumbled upon some pretty cool new products to try.

 

One of our finds was Quaker’s new Chewy bars. They just came out with these Chocolatey Mint flavor and also a Chocolatey Swirl Flavor. They both looked so good, but in the end the Mint one was the one we chose. Whit and I were so excited about these that we ripped the box open and had them for an afternoon snack while we were out and about. This bar was fantastic! It hit the chocolate spot for sure. Our mom always bought Chewy bars when we were kids, so it brought me back to those years… oh the good ol’ days. lol

 

Here are the nutritional stats:

The ingredients are not all that impressive, but hey Chewy’s have come a long way. Now there is no high fructose corn syrup, and they are packed with a ton of whole grains!

 

Another cool find we picked up were these chicken sausages. They look just like turkey brats! They sounded and looked delicious…

and c’mon you cannot say no to these all natural ingredients.

 

 Whit and I also could not wait to try out this product so we had it for dinner.

 

We spread a little bit of jalapeno hummus on some earth grains bread. It is so weird that I was eating a giant piece of sausage on some bread… but surprisingly delicious! These would taste awesome in a skillet, eggs, on a homemade pizza, or soup.

On the side Whit and I also had a sweet tater with pb and yogurt. We have both been craving these for weeks!

 

 And now on to the best part of the day. DESSERT!!! Whit and I have been eyeing Janetha’s Wendy Frosty recipe for quite some time so we made it tonight.  

 Here is the recipe:

in the bowl:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (we used Spiru-tein Cookies and cream instead) 
  • 1 TB unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 packet stevia in the raw
  • TONS of ice
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • lots of ice

Freeze for 10-30 minutes.

This was our first time using xanthan and guar gum, so it was crazy to see how thick this mixture got. It ended up making way too much, so I only ended up eating about half my bowl. Maybe next time Whit and I will just have to share.

 

 Well our momma’s b-day is tomorrow and her cake is in the oven right now. It is a surprise what theme it is, so we will post the pictures of the final product tomorrow.

 

Have a good night!

-Court

 

21 Responses to “Lot’s of errands… but good eats!”

  1. jqlee July 1, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    oooh i love pb and marshmallow fluff. seriously, it’s so sweet and sinfully good.

    i’ve had mcdonalds coffee before and i agree, its pretty good. but i’ve grown quite a hatred for the company so i kind of refuse to buy anything from there.

    • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 12:52 PM #

      Yes, I do not like there message. But every fast food place is out to make money. I know that there food is not good for me, but I still will have it every once and awhile.

      -Court

  2. Meg July 1, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

    I remember having Chewy bars SO much during my childhood as well – mint sounds amazing – wish they came out with that a long time ago 😉

    McMuffin is a total go-to breakfast from McD’s – and who can go a morning without some java?! Yum!

    I cannot wait to see the cake! Happy (early) Birthday to your Mom! She has the two best daughters ever!
    Happy Thurs!
    Meg

  3. maxinthegym July 1, 2010 at 10:12 PM #

    I’m excited to see the cake! The ones in your previous posts were adorbs!

    And please send over your leftover frosty 😀

    • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 12:50 PM #

      You got it! It is still in the freezer 🙂

      -Court

  4. kbwood July 1, 2010 at 10:40 PM #

    i seriously LOVE mcds iced coffee too!! AND FLUFFER NUTTERS!! LOVE PB AND MARSHMELLOW FLUFF! When i was gaining weight a few years ago i had 1-2 with a big glass of whole milk every night b4 bed.. GOOD TIMES!! 🙂

  5. Killian July 1, 2010 at 11:17 PM #

    Chewies! Love! They remind me of playtime at school because we got one nearly every day. I bought 3 boxes the other day because they were on sale! Chocolate chip x2 and Cookies and Cream! So nostalgic. And a chocolate bar for 90 kcal? What’s the shame in that? I think the ingredients are pretty good compared to most common supermarket granola bars. No shame 😛 Also McDonalds Egg McMuffin! I haven’t had one in years (damn you, ED) but I remember thinking it was absolutely amazing. Just cuz it’s McDonalds, people, don’t hate. It’s goooood 😀 That sausage looks yummy! Must. Conquer. Fear food. Thanks for the post 🙂

    • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 8:48 AM #

      Oh I remember the cookies and cream ones. Those were my favorite.
      -Court

  6. Wei-Wei July 2, 2010 at 4:09 AM #

    Thank you Crystal! Of course I’d have you on my blogroll, I’ve loved your blog ever since I first saw it! I think my first impression was “Wow. Lovely minimalist design!” and then I saw your photos, and I was hooked. 😀

    Wei-Wei

    • Wei-Wei July 2, 2010 at 4:14 AM #

      Oh my gosh I’m so sorry – that comment was a reply to one on my blog. My page reloaded and I got everything mixed up… I’m so sorry! What I meant to say was that your eats seriously are good indeeed. I used to have Chewy bars when I was little, too, and your fluffer-nutter sandwich sounds soooo good! I love how you guys used two kinds of bread 😉

      Wei-Wei

      • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 8:47 AM #

        lol. That’s ok. I am always having computer difficulties!
        -Court

  7. Elli@16 and Losing It July 2, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    those chewy bars look so good! I loved Chewys when I was a kid and I still love them now! I’m going to have to check out those new flavors! 🙂

  8. Sweet Cheeks July 2, 2010 at 10:08 AM #

    ahhh, marshmallow fluff…takes me back to the good ol’ days. ;)My grandma always used to make peanut butter and fluff sandwiches for my sister and I.

    Can’t wait to see you guy’s senior pics. I’m sure they are gorgy!

    • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 2:28 PM #

      I cannot believe how many people have already had these sandwiches. Whit and I just had our firsts ones!

      -Court

  9. Laura July 2, 2010 at 10:21 AM #

    I haven’t had McD’s in ages! i miss it! xx

  10. elaine @ Om Sweet Om July 2, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

    Oh wow, I remember my senior pics experience too. After every shot they shooed me off into the changing to change into yet another outfit with yet another style of makeup. I don’t think I’ve ever been so heavily made up in my life! It was fun though. It certainly did make me feel like a star of model!

    • CourtandWhit July 2, 2010 at 2:27 PM #

      I know that is exactly how it was! I am definitely never going to forget that experience!
      -Court

  11. Wholewheatordie! July 2, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

    i friggin love egg mfmuffins

  12. Brittany July 3, 2010 at 9:23 PM #

    Wow, the dessert looks great! What kind of blender do you use for the faux frosty? Did it turn out gelatinous or more like soft serve ice cream?

  13. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey July 5, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

    Mmm, I used to love PB Fluff sandwiches. They are truly childhood classics. 🙂 That new Chewy bar flavor looks awesome. 🙂

    Ahh that faux frosty looks SO delicious. I have been wanting to make it for quite some time, along with Heather’s protein ice cream. I need xanthan/guar!! hahah.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It was a carb kinda day! « Teens Eat - July 22, 2010

    […] was something that I came up with one day and have been thinking about for weeks! You remember the Al Fresco Chicken Sausage that we tried for the first time a few weeks back. Well I came up with so many things you […]

Leave a Reply

