Just a typical day…

29 Jun

Tuesday, June 29th

Now that I am getting older…. I have turned into an early bird. You know how it is when you are starting to get into your teen years, you stay up all night, and wake up the next day at about 10 or 11 am. Now after 1 whole year of having to wake up at 5 or 6 am every single day it has just become a habit. Even when I have a day off, I still find myself automatically waking up early. My body gets tired at a human hour and wake up at a human hour. I think it is official to say that I am turning into an adult quite fast. Do any of you teens wake up early… or do you get 10-14 hrs. of sleep every time you can?

Well we ended up waking up at 5 am this morning, and completed Turbo Fire’s Fire 45 class, and stretch 10 class. After yesterdays P90x legs and back and todays workout I could barely bend down to pick up anything all day, my legs were so sore! I love when I am sore though. That is how I know my muscles are confused and working hard. lol 🙂

 

Breakfast this morning was an overnight oats and green tea sweetened with stevia.

 The oats were plain jane today. We used a container of Siggi’s Orange Ginger, strawberries, and granola.

 **VERDICT: The creamiest yogurt I have ever tried turned into the best bowl of overnight oats I have ever had. The hints of orange made this a perfect summer meal.

 

 

 For lunch today, we ordered off the “lighter fare menu” at work. Remember last week when I talked about how calorie packed Einstein’s egg sandwiches are, well this Egg White Turkey Sausage sandwich on good grains weighs in at only 400 calories. It was so awesome. The best part of it is the ancho salsa. Together our total came to about $10, but with our employee meal discount we only ended up paying $2. SCORE!  

 

 

 Dinner tonight was a buffalo wing chicken quesidilla with spinach dip and salsa on the side. 🙂 Our whole family went crazy over these. Two thumbs up 😉

 

Well I am off to watch some old school 90210. Senior pics. are tomorrow!

Catch ya’ later 🙂

-COURT

11 Responses to “Just a typical day…”

  1. danica June 29, 2010 at 8:41 PM #

    oh gosh I live for quesadillas! And that one sounds absolutely delish! recipe??
    GOod luck with pics tmrw! I remember I was just freaking out so much before mine but they turned out okay! =)

    • CourtandWhit June 30, 2010 at 10:24 PM #

      The recipe is very simple:
      1) Cook chicken breast at 375 for about 35 min
      2) Shred it when it comes out of the oven
      3) Add buffalo wing sauce as desired taste
      4) Put in a tortilla, add cheese, and put on quesidilla grill

  2. teenagehealthfreak June 29, 2010 at 8:51 PM #

    no worries..I’m totally an early bird!!! I literally CAN NOT sleep past 7 or 8 hours..and 7:30 is about the latest I get up!!! but I like to get up early.

  3. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 29, 2010 at 9:05 PM #

    I guess I never qualified as your “typical teen.” My entire family are morning people…none of us really sleep past 8am. Because I like to work out in the mornings, so I try to go to bed by 10:30 or 11pm and wake up by 6:30 or 7am. My friends here in college all think 11pm is way too early to go to bed! Ridiculous. Our bodies are supposed to be in bed soon after the sun goes down!

  4. kbwood June 29, 2010 at 9:25 PM #

    MMM what a delish dinner! I USED to be a really early bird, now im not as much!! It all varies!

  5. Lisa (I'm an Okie) June 29, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

    Ahh I miss the teen years of not getting enough sleep NOT affecting my body. Now, If I skimp on sleep I feel it SO bad the next day. And Im only 25! sheesh.

    quesadilla looks GOOD! such an easy and healthy meal.

  6. overconcerned June 29, 2010 at 10:15 PM #

    I am, ashamedly, not an early bird at all. I woke up at 8 this morning and considered that early 😉 I still occasionally sleep till noon, but I’ll never get in 10-14 hours. I sleep too late for that!

    Your dinner looks absolutely delicious. I love love love quesadillas! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

  7. Meg June 30, 2010 at 9:19 AM #

    2 dollars for that deliciousness – heck yes! 🙂 That looks amazing, and the yogurt breakfast does too, you guys seriously need to come cook for me, haha! Just kidding – maybe if I’m ever near your work I’ll have you make me a Court and Whit special – whatever that may be.

    I love being an early bird most days, but on the weekends sometimes it just feels so good to sleep in, even if it means waking up for a few and falling back asleep – or just laying in bed.

    Happy Wednesday!! 🙂

  8. critterjitters13 June 30, 2010 at 9:50 AM #

    I am definitely an early bird! The latest I can possibly wakeup is 8:00 am any later and I feel like I’ve wasted part of my day.

    That oatmeal looked so delicious even if it was “plain jane”.

    Elli 🙂

  9. mapledreams June 30, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    I have major sleep probelms and get roughly 3 or 4 hours a night…i’d KILL for 14 hours! i do love getting up early though xx

  10. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey July 5, 2010 at 7:08 PM #

    Oh, I definitely stay up LATE and sleep LATE. Not during the school year, but definitely during the summer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

