Nothing like some homegrown Rhubarb!

27 Jun

Sunday June 27th

Don’t you think it would be great if anytime you needed a fruit or vegetable, you could just go into your back yard and get it out of the garden? Well that is what our family can do for some fruits and veggies. We have a little garden in the back yard filled with jalapeno, rhubarb, zucchini, tomatoes, apples, strawberries, and pumpkins (in the fall). I just love the fact that these fruits and veggies are home-grown and do not have any pesticides or chemicals on them! I know exactly where they came from and what has been on them.

Currently our rhubarb plant is HUGE, so what did we do yesterday…. we went and picked some to use for breakfast this morning.

We made a Baked Rhubarb Apple Crisp Oatmeal yesterday for this morning’s breakfast.

We got this recipe off of Iowa Girl Eats blog. She has some amazing recipes. Here is the recipe:

Baked Rhubarb Apple Crisp Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/3 cup chopped rhubarb

1/2 chopped apple

2 Tablespoons water

2 teaspoons agave nectar (could use honey)

2/3 cup water

vanilla extract

cinnamon

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

2 Tablespoons sliced almonds(we did not have sliced, so we just chopped some up)

1 teaspoon butter

1 teaspoon brown sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook the rhubarb and apple in 2 Tablespoons of water in a pot on the stove until softened, ~2 minutes.

2. Stir in agave nectar, water, vanilla, cinnamon and oats. Pour mixture into a non-stick sprayed baking dish and bake for 10 minutes.

3. Mix together almonds, butter and sugar. After oatmeal has cooked for 10 minutes, top with the almond mixture and bake for 10 more minutes.

Whit and I just doubled the recipe for the two of us and poured it in and 8×8 pan to cook. This morning split it and had it with of course some iced coffee 😉

This was sooo good. The best part was the crumbly topping! Yum. Also it had just the perfect hint of sweetness.

 

We had a rice bowl, yogurt parfait and pretzels for lunch. Whit made our rice bowls last night and threw in some zucchini, grape tomatoes, spike, and spinach. So REFRESHING!

 

 

When we got home from work, we had only one snack in mind…
Yogurt Mess!

We bought some Voskos yogurt the other day and have been dying to try it.

**VERDICT: Well let me tell ya, you get what you pay for. This yogurt is a bit on the pricey side at about $1.39 a container, but totally worth it. It has the same thick creaminess as Siggi’s. This was by far the coolest flavor of yogurt I have seen. It would be awesome as fro-yo… need I say more 😛

 

Well as you guys can see it is raining cats and dogs here, so I think it is about time for me to go wrap myself up in a blankie and watch a good movie. 🙂 

 

QOD: Do you have a garden? If so, what things are growing in it? Also do you buy organic?

 

-Court

17 Responses to “Nothing like some homegrown Rhubarb!”

  1. teenagehealthfreak June 27, 2010 at 8:09 PM #

    I’ve never tried rhubarb…we serve rhubarb pies at work all the time though!!! And we have a garden too!!..we change out what we grow for the seasons usually.

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 8:18 PM #

      You have got to try it! That is cool that you have a garden too! Usually it gets too cold here to change our what we grow every season, so we basically just grow stuff in the summer. I am going to make a rhubarb pie next 🙂

      -Court

  2. Meg June 27, 2010 at 9:06 PM #

    I would LOVE to wrap myself in a blanket and watch a movie, that’s such a good idea, especially when it’s cold or rainy. Hope the sunshine comes out soon though 🙂

    That rhubarb oatmeal looks to die for! I’ve never had rhubarb – what’s it like?! I’m so curious now, I may pick up some at the store!

    My Dad has his vegetable garden, grows so much good stuff & we make homemade salsa each year 🙂

    Have a great Monday chickas!

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

      it has a sweet tase to it, and sometimes it is just good raw with a little salt on top 🙂

  3. Natalie June 27, 2010 at 10:16 PM #

    doesn’t produce you grow always taste SO much better?!?! so cool that your family has a garden in your backyard. ive been working on an organic farm a few times per week and i eat produce while im harvesting it.. and it always tastes amazing!!!! the baked apple rhubarb oatmeal looks so delicious as well.. very creative! and so perfectly seasonal =)

    • CourtandWhit June 28, 2010 at 8:11 PM #

      It does taste so much better. I love having a garden. It is so convieniant and the food taste better 🙂

      -Court

  4. kbwood June 27, 2010 at 10:26 PM #

    WOW that breakfast looks GREAT! come cook for me girls, PLEASE?! I want a garden so bad!

  5. overconcerned June 28, 2010 at 12:11 AM #

    I’ve never had rhubarb before 😦 I am growing some stuff in my garden, though: bell peppers, chili peppers, and sponge gourd (something like a stringy cucumber, sorta like zucchini!) I do use organic fertiliser because I am planning on eating what I grow (IF it grows) but no, I don’t buy organic. :S I’m still on the fence about whether it’s worth it.

    It’s raining like hell here in Shanghai, and my pepper plants are seriously like DROWNING. It makes me so sad!

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit June 28, 2010 at 8:12 PM #

      Your garden sounds awesome, I hope your stuff grows 🙂

      -Court

  6. maxinthegym June 28, 2010 at 4:36 AM #

    There are thunderstorms on this side of the world too 😦

    I’ve never had rhubarb because I could never find it in my supermarket haha but I think I’m going to try and look harder for it so I can try this recipe! It looks so good! Like dessert almost hahha

    • CourtandWhit June 28, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

      I do not think I have ever seen it at the store either… I guess we have just always planted it.

      -Court

  7. mapledreams June 28, 2010 at 10:09 AM #

    The only thing growing in my garden right now is weeds! would love to grow rhubarb! xx

    • CourtandWhit June 28, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

      You totally should! Having a garden is so fun 🙂

  8. A Teenage Gourmet June 28, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    The weather has been bipolar in Kentucky too!

    And I do have a garden, it’s only it’s second year, but we grow mixed salad greens, tomatoes, butternut squash, kale, swiss chard, peppers, cucumbers, and marigolds (they’re really good at keeping pests away!). 🙂

    • CourtandWhit June 28, 2010 at 8:14 PM #

      I know! I think it is raining everywhere lol. Your garden sounds awesome. I am going to have to try to plant some of those things 😉

      -Court

  9. Yolanda June 28, 2011 at 4:11 PM #

    I just came across this recipe over at Iowa Girl Eats, and had to cut my rhubarb and make it for desert this evening. I changed it up a bit; and because it is 98 here in Kansas right now, and the oven is on, decided to bake sweet potatoes for our dinner and make kale chips. This should be a perfect ending to a delightful dinner, wouldn’t you say? 🙂

Leave a Reply

