Saturday’s are Refreshing

26 Jun

No work today BABY!!!

After work yesterday, we were pooped and starving. So we pulled our loaf of rice raisin pecan bread out of the freezer, topped it with PB&J, yogurt, banana, and kashi. Both a refreshing and satisfying snack.

Since it was Friday, no one was in the mood to cook after a long day of work, so mom gave us money to go pick up something. We all decided on some healthy take-out from Chipotle. Court, mom, and I all got Chicken burrito bowls. MMM, were they good!

 All week, Court and I have been craving Kelsey’s PB White Chocolate Pancakes, and so we finally made them this morning.

 Holey cow, these were delish! They were a tad sweet, but nothing a good recipe tweak can’t handle. Next time I would probably do a little less PB, and White chocolate chips. But all in all this recipe gets a 10/10. (Topped with banana, honey, and cinnamon)

 After breakfast, we showered up, and went to Classical Cut to get some trimmed up hair for our Senior Pics that are this Wednesday. I asked for an 1 1/2 inches off, choppy layers,  and textured bangs. This was the outcome. It feels great to get off some of that dead. Seriously it is crazy how your head can feel lighter with a little bit of some hair cut off. LOL

 When we were all done with our haircuts, court and I headed to Sprouts to pick up some stuff for lunch and dinner. We have never tried Sushi before, so we decided to try brown rice California rolls today.

 These california rolls were so good! I was expecting them to just be alright, but seriously were hooked now. To pair with our California Rolls was a Edammane, strawberry, grape salad. The dressing was a new organic Poppy seed vinagrette we found at Sprouts.

 Overall a creative tasty lunch 😉

 And to polish it all off a square of Newman’s Own Milk chocolate was eaten.

**Verdict- Creamy, melt in the mouth, luscious, better than Hershey’s any day!

With a crave for some Panini’s, we picked up Cibatta bread, Spinach dip, and artichokes at the store today. The idea for these panini’s was inspired by Kristen.

The bread we used was this multi-grain cibatta bread from Wal-Mart.

We dug out the top of the bread, spread spinach dip on both sides, put artichoke hearts on one side

Then grill up some chicken to put on top. Put both sides together, and place on the Panini grill.

While it was cooking, we made some good refreshing pink lemonade for everyone.

After seeing some bloggers make Zucchini chips, we attempted to… Mission Failed. Most of them were burnt, and totally stuck to the pan. We each only got about 4 out of it. whoops!

Final Product:

MMM, Iowa girl your Panini recipe was a total success 🙂

Now were going to watch the new Disney movie that has Debbie Ryan in it, and then head to bed for an early work morning tomorrow. Peace~

XOXO Court & Whit 

22 Responses to “Saturday’s are Refreshing”

  1. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 26, 2010 at 8:29 PM #

    LOVE chipotle bowls! AND OMG those Sprout’s sushis ARE SO YUMMY! I don’t know what it is, but those brown rice is so chewy and I love the crunch from the sesame seeds too. I love to dip them in soysauce mixed with lots of wasabi and a piece of ginger! YUMMMM. Of course, I enjoyed those back in my non-vegetarian days 😀

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:09 PM #

      The sesame seeds were my favorite! I saw the soysauce, wasabi, and ginger, but I was too afraid to try it being my first time and all lol.

      -Court

  2. overconcerned June 26, 2010 at 8:44 PM #

    Oh, those pancakes look absolutely divine! As does your panini! I’m sorry the zucchini chips didn’t work out, though – I thought that you were going to put them on the panini grill! I’ve seen that done with sweet potatoes – just slice them and grill’em. Maybe for chips you do have to spray a little nonstick spray and slice them thinner. I hope this works! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:08 PM #

      Thanks for the advice, we will have to try that next time 😉

  3. jqlee June 26, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

    so glad you guys like the sushi. sushi is amazing!

  4. healthyhelper June 26, 2010 at 9:20 PM #

    OMG sushi is the best i absolutely love it! if you think sushi from the grocery store is good, wait till you have it fresh at a real sushi place. AMAZING. my favs are salmon, tuna, and veg rolls.

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:07 PM #

      I know I cannot wait to try it at an actual sushi place… now I just need to find one 🙂

      -Court

  5. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey June 26, 2010 at 9:28 PM #

    Yayy! I’m so so glad you liked the pancakes. 🙂 Sorry about the sweetness; I actually didn’t taste them at all, so I was basing the the recipe on my sugar-lovin’ brother’s tastebuds, hahah. 😛

    Oh my gosh, your hair cut is so cute! I absolutely love it. Also, your paninis look INCREDIBLE. Yum.

    Zucchini chips can be super hard to get right. I’ve wasted two whole zucchinis trying to make them, actually. Did you spray/oil the pan AND the chips? That helps, and make sure to watch them really closely. 🙂

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:06 PM #

      It is ok, the pancakes will be perfect for dessert tonight lol.

      We actually did not even stick oil on the pan so that was the first mistake… or on the zucchini… whoops 😛

      -Court

  6. Natalie June 26, 2010 at 9:57 PM #

    oh man, i LOVE sushi!!! so glad you girls like it … japanese food is my favorite type of cuisine and i’m always trying to spread the sushi love… =)

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:05 PM #

      We are definitely going to need to try some more sushi!

  7. Hannah June 27, 2010 at 7:10 AM #

    Those pancakes look YUMMY! White chocolate chips+pb=heaven. and can’t believe it was your first time eating sushi. Sushi is sooo good!

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:04 PM #

      I know that is what everybody keeps saying lol!

      -Court

  8. Ann Claire June 27, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    All of your food looks way good, espicially the paninis. I love it when I find blogs of other teens who love to cook and eat healthy! Feel free to check out my blog!

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

      Thank you! We will for sure check out your blog 🙂

  9. Meg June 27, 2010 at 4:19 PM #

    Saturdays are totally refreshing, I agree 🙂 I had an awesome one, too.

    Woah, that was your first time ever trying sushi? Have ya’ll been living under a rock?! Haha just kidding 😉 you have to try a spicy tuna roll, or an avocado salmon roll mmm!

    Enjoy your Sunday girls! Love,
    Meg

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

      HAHA I think we have been living under a rock! I cannot wait to try the spicy tuna roll and avocado salmon roll, that is what a bunch of people have been raving about. 🙂

      -Court

  10. A Teenage Gourmet June 27, 2010 at 6:17 PM #

    Is that a pizza stone? I burnt some cheese onto my pizza stone and I’m pretty sure it will never come clean! Every time I heat it up, it stinks up the whole kitchen. 😦

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

      yeah, its stone. But luckily we did get it cleaned using SOS pads, and a stone scraper along with hot water and soap.

    • CourtandWhit June 27, 2010 at 7:11 PM #

      It sure is! lol

  11. Lauren @ WWoB June 28, 2010 at 11:11 PM #

    Super cute hair cut! And I love sushi! Im not a huge rice fan so I often get the kind that is wrapped in rice paper. My all time favorite is at whole foods and it is salmon, avocado, carrots, cabbage, and some lettuce drizzled with spicy sauce and wrapped in rice paper. IT IS AWESOME. If you can find it, you have to try it! Very healthy too 🙂

    • CourtandWhit June 30, 2010 at 10:01 PM #

      We will have to look for that!
      Thanks 🙂

      -Court

Leave a Reply

