Egg, Bacon, Cheddar makeover

23 Jun

6/22-6/23

Don’t you feel like you start off every week like an Energizer bunny, then once Wednesday arrives your energy just keeps dropping? Well that is how I feel… then I get lazier, I do not really fix myself up in the morning… lol you get the point! I was too tired to post last night, so here is a recap of the last two days! 

 

 

 

 

Well guys, even with NO energy we managed to wake up at 4:30 in the morning yesterday to complete Turbo Fire’s 15 min HITT class and the 10 min Stretch class. Oh man was this workout fun! This whole program was our older sister Ashley’s idea, and we have been doing the classes(they are dvd’s, but they are called “classes” because each video was filmed in a class setting) together. HITT stands for High Intensity Interval Training. Chalene says in the DVD that just four minutes of HITT, is more effective that 45 min. at the gym on the elliptical or treadmill. That is crazy huh! If you want shorter workouts, then you have to be willing to push yourself  as hard as you have ever pushed in just that short amount of time. I want you all to find some kind of HITT workout and try it this week. I loved this video. As soon as the buzzer goes off then Chalene takes you through 1 min. of INTENSE cardio moves… then there is a 30 sec. break and you start right back up again. These kind of workouts will definitely improve your stamina.  

 

 

Here is the infomercial!

 

 

 

Yesterday morning after our awesome sweat sesh we cooled of with some breakfast. We had a Chocolate Banana Smoothies with dry cereal. 

We added a handful of coca puffs to our cheerios.

 

Lunch was a mixed greens, a protein bar, and fruit.

The salad consisted of zucchini, pickles, edamane, and carrots.
Look at all those GREENS :p

Whit, Ash, and I had made a fruit salad for our dads dinner so there was plenty left over.

 

 **VERDICT: This bar was so good! You cannot even tell it is a protein bar. I got my Chocolite fix for the day and still got in 10 g fiber 9 g of protein!

 

Last night Whit and I ate a cheddar Bratwurst real fast for dinner when we got home, then we went to Pinkberry for some frozen yogurt for dessert!
This was a picture when we were driving by looking for a parking spot. By the time we actually found a spot, then there was a line all the way out the door. There are only 2 Pinkberry’s in all of Colorado and they just opened last month! I am so psyched. I would always see this place on “The Hills”, and was dying to try it.

When we walked in we were greeted with this little message. And let me tell ya’ after my experience, it is 100% TRUE!

Whit and I both kept it simple and ordered the Original flavor with 3 toppings. The original flavor had a honey tart flavor to it. They also had other flavors to choose from such as chocolate, pomegranate, and mango

 

This was Whits cup. Her toppings consisted of fruity pebbles, cheesecake bites, and silvered almonds.

 

My cup consisted of fresh raspberries, coconut, and carob chips.
These were both a ulitmate success. It was just as I had hoped for 🙂 Pinkberry is a bit pricey, but totally worth the splurge sometime. Plus, we have both been working 40 hour weeks so we deserved it!

 

 

It was not blistering hot when we woke up this morning, it was just kinda mild. So with that said we had a big ol’ bowl of PB & J oats.

 

With Whit and I being Hungry Girlfans, we took Kelsey’s advice and doubled the amount of liquids in our oats to keep us satisfied for longer. So instead of adding 1 cup of liquid to our half cup, we added 2 cups. It totally worked, thanks girly! 🙂 

 

 

Lunch today was rather disgusting. Whit and I got all excited when we saw that Lean Cuisine came out with all of these new Spa inspired meals, so we bought this one to try first. The only thing I like in this was the Chicken. The rest of it was drenched in this thick nasty sauce that I cannot even explain. I do not recommend buying this flavor.

 

 

 

 

Dinner was inspired by something that I have been eying for weeks at our work…. the Egg Bacon Cheddar. This is one of are most popular items on the menu. It smells and looks so heavenly, but is secretly loaded with calories. It contains 610 calories! So being my creative self, I thought up a genius way to recreate this sandwich at home for less than half the calories

 

 Whit and I have been obsessed with egg sandwiches lately, so we had one for dinner.

 We used an Alternative Italian Herb Bagel, with an egg white that consisted of:

  •  laughing cow garlic and herb 
  • onions
  • garlic
  • spike

 We topped it off with some cheddar and turkey bacon. This sandwich definitely hit the spot. I love how turkey bacon has a smokey flavor and it is much healthier for you 😉

 

**Verdict: You cannot go wrong with these bagels. They are 100 calories of goodness. The Itailian herb flavor really meshed well with this egg sandwich. I am really starting to love savory bagels.  

 Ok well it is almost time for me to hit the hay! Whit and I are planning to wake up early and hit the gym before work tomorrow, but first let me leave ya with this message:

haha!

TOODLES

18 Responses to “Egg, Bacon, Cheddar makeover”

  1. overconcerned June 23, 2010 at 9:03 PM #

    Aww, that shirt is sooo cute! And your meals look yummy as always, especially that bagel! I’m insanely jealous of those alternative bagels – they contain even less calories than HALF a normal bagel here! D: Oh well, you win some you lose some! Oh yeah, and pinkberry is awesome. I’ve heard so much good stuff about it! 😀 I hope you guys are having a great night! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

  2. Meg June 23, 2010 at 9:18 PM #

    Oh my gosh FROYO! I love froyo and totally just had it in my latest post too 🙂

    I love the bagel makeover, and Lean Cuisine stuff is definitely hit or miss 😦 boooo. I’ll stick with homemade goodies 🙂

    Happy Wednesday girls!! Love ya!

    • CourtandWhit June 24, 2010 at 8:51 PM #

      lol that is funny that we both posted about it on the same day!

  3. jqlee June 23, 2010 at 9:35 PM #

    I think the Healthy Choice are much better for frozen meals. They taste better in my opinion.

    I am OBSESSED with egg sandwiches lately. Been eating it almost every morning. Haha.

    I ALWAYS use 2 cups of liquid when I cook my oats. It poofs up soooo much! And I use only a 1/2 cup of dried oats. It’s awesome!

  4. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 23, 2010 at 9:48 PM #

    Those cheesecake bites from frozen yogurt places are so addicting! I almost always get them, along with shredded coconut.
    Wow I haven’t seen the Italian Herb alternative bagels around yet! But I DO LOVE alternative bagels! Can’t believe they’re only about 100 calories for all that doughy-ness!

    • CourtandWhit June 24, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

      I know I can’t believe it, I am addicted to these bagels 🙂

  5. runnerforever June 23, 2010 at 10:07 PM #

    I love your blog. Yay for fro-yo!

  6. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey June 23, 2010 at 10:11 PM #

    Mm, yummy eats, girls! 🙂 Yay for chocolate banana smoothies, and I’m loving your lunch combo of salad + fruit + protein bar. I love having salads for lunch because I can complement them with anything: carbs, fat, protein, or all three. 🙂

    I love froyo sooo much! I’ve never tried Pinkberry but I’ve wanted to for years. Have you guys ever gone anywhere else? I wonder how Pinkberry compares to other places.

    I am so, so glad the oatmeal trick worked for you guys! It’s pretty cool, right? I’m glad Hungry-Girl wrote about it.

    Your bagel sandwich looks beautiful! Gotta love recreating calorie bombs and making them healthy. 🙂

    Lol, that shirt is super cute. 🙂

    • CourtandWhit June 24, 2010 at 8:53 PM #

      This was the first frozen yogurt place that we have been to, but we have just had fro-yo from the grocery store.
      -Court

  7. teenagehealthfreak June 24, 2010 at 7:50 AM #

    cute shirt!! that egg sammie looks yummy!!! And I’ve never been to Pinkberrys…but I have had tart/natural frozen yogurt by haagan daz..and it was freakin’ bomb…that’s such a unique flavor..I LOVE IT!!..((p.s it’s really good with kiwi!!!))

    • CourtandWhit June 24, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

      We have yet to try the Haagen Daz! I thought about kiwi… I guess I will have to get it next time 😉

  8. christina June 24, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

    mmm i want that bagel sandwich! and the fro yo! cheesecake bites on top? yes please!!

  9. Rachel (tea and chocolate) June 24, 2010 at 8:46 AM #

    Yay fro-yo! A new one just opened near me to, and it’s always crowded with 12 year olds for some reason.

    I’m surprised that using 2 cups of liquid doesn’t make the oats watery. I’ll have to try that.

    • CourtandWhit June 24, 2010 at 8:55 PM #

      Nope, it just makes it nice and fluffy. It takses longer to cook but is totally worth it!
      -Court

  10. mapledreams June 24, 2010 at 12:46 PM #

    I love egg sandwiches and your homemade one looks amazing!..so much better than the higher calorie one! i’m desperate to try PinkBerry too! xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How ’bout a breakfast cookie! « Teens Eat - June 25, 2010

    […] is a piece of cake. If you did not watch the infomercial from my post the other day, then click here to see it. Once you watch it then tell me what you think. Does it sound like a workout for […]

  2. One hot mess! YIKES « Teens Eat - July 13, 2010

    […] decided on raspberry, carob chip, coconut ones. The inspiration for these came from the ammazzing Pinkberry I had last […]

Leave a Reply

