Took your advice

17 Jun

Thursday June 17th

Good Morning  🙂

As promised we made Peanut Butter Maple Protein Bars last night. We found this recipe on Katie’s blog and were dying to try it. The recipe is very simple which is perfect for all of our busy lives. The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 16 oz firm tofu
  • 1/2 cup sugar free syrup ( OR 1/4 cup honey)
  • 1/2 cup creamy or crunchy peanut butter (OR 1/2 cup peanut butter substitute such as Fitnutz*)
  • 4 egg whites, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Stevia to taste
  • *Optional: 1 tsp maple extract

 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 325.  Line a 9×13 pan with parchment paper, (or spray with non-stick cooking spray).
  2. Combine the oats and protein powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. In a food processor, (or in a bowl, and use an immersion blender), combine tofu, syrup (or honey), peanut butter, egg whites, and vanilla, and pulse/blend until creamy and well combined.
  4. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and stir well to combine.
  5. Spread mixture in the baking dish and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until lightly golden.
  6. Remove from the oven and let cool completely in the pan before cutting into bars.

 

Servings: 12

Calories: 150 (15 grams of protein, 5 grams of carbs, 3 grams of fiber per bar)

The alteration Whit and I did with this recipe was using 1/4 cup of Agave Nectar instead of syrup or honey.

Look how beautiful these bars look when they come out of the oven. I never knew that tofu could be used for so many things!

 

When the pan was cooled, we cut it into 12 bars and stacked them on a plate for the family to dig in.  

 

Even though Whit and I already had dessert last night these bars just looked to darn good, and the maple aroma reeled me in so we had to give them a try ourselves!

These bars have a sponge like texture that is very soft and moist. Maple and Peanut butter are the best combo ever. This is definitely a decadent protein bar. I cannot believe how easy it was and it was HOMEMADE! These bars have more protein than LUNA bars and are a much cheaper alternative.

Our mom tried one and she is one tough cookie when it comes to food. She will not eat ANYTHING healthy. She initially just wanted a bite, but she thought they were so good that she had to have one herself. These were her exact words:

“Damn girls you can definitely make these for me again.”

Once again this was another recipe that was a hit in our household. Thanks Kate 😉

 

 

Now on to this morning. Whit and I have a very busy day today, so we took all of your advice and got in our work out bright and early. We woke up at 5 am and had some nuun and a banana before we left to the gym.

Are you wondering what nuun is?
Here’s what it is straight from the website:

“in real words? imagine being out on a long run or ride, or being in the gym. rather than settle for water or buy a sugary drink from a convenience store, you just fill up your water bottle and drop in a couple of nuun tabs. by the time you’ve tied your laces or put on your pack, you’ve got a complex electrolyte drink that recharges your salts, but is refreshing and more efficiently absorbed than water alone or most sports drinks on the market.”

Whit and I got sent these flavors to sample…

  • lemon+lime
  • tri-berry
  • banananuun

Whit and I tried tri-berry today.

**Verdict: I did not really like the flavor, but I loved the effect it had on my body. I was feeling kind of groggy when I woke up. This woke me up and helped me power through my workout. Usually I do not push myself as hard during early morning workouts, but this gave me the power to do so! 🙂

To buy some tablets of your own visit: http://www.nuun.com/

 

At the gym we did

  • 30 min. elliptical
  • 10 min. bike
  • 20 min. weight lifting

It felt so good to get my workout done so early when it was cool out! Now, I do not have to think about it the rest of the day 🙂

 

 

When we came home we prepared egg white sandwiches paired along with gala apples and iced coffee. It is once again a beautiful morning in Colorado.

 

We used the whole wheat alternative english muffins we got sent. These are only 90 calories, thick, flaky, and delicious!

 

These tumblers are perfect for everything. Today it really looks like a coffee from Starby’s!

 

Well guys we have to go get some grocery shoppin’ done for our mamma, meet up with our older sis at a new local cupcake shop, and get some chores done. I hope you have a wonderful healthy day. Just think it is almost FRIDAY!

xoxo Court&Whit

10 Responses to “Took your advice”

  1. Laura June 17, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

    Those bars sound absolutely delicious!!! xx

  2. teenagehealthfreak June 17, 2010 at 11:11 AM #

    I love nuuns!!! I always keep those with me…once during a tennis tornament..I started feeling sooo bad b/c of the heat..and I could just tell my blood sugar was low..and I felt bad…so I litterally just ate one of the nunn tablets! I felt so much better..AND.. I won that game!!!!

  3. overconcerned June 17, 2010 at 11:50 AM #

    I think morning workouts are great, plus the sense of accomplishment is awesome 😀 PB Maple Protein Bars!! O_O They sound sooo darn good!

    Your meal looks delicious! I think English Muffins are next on my to-make list 😀

    Wei-Wei

  4. Hannah June 17, 2010 at 12:59 PM #

    Hey girls! Those bars look delish, and its great to get in an early workout. You girl seem to do great workouts! I haven’t been working out in a while, and I was wondering if you guys could email me some tips for your favorite workouts, how to not get bored, etc? I look forward to hearing from you, we seem so alike, same age and everything, we should keep in touch!

  5. Sweet Cheeks June 17, 2010 at 1:38 PM #

    I just ate one of those bars. I love them! I can’t wait to play around with different ingredients and add ins. Your mom’s comment made me laugh. 😉

  6. A Teenage Gourmet June 17, 2010 at 4:03 PM #

    Very nice post! I like the new layout as well.

  7. jqlee June 17, 2010 at 11:10 PM #

    Ive been meaning to get one of those starbucks cups! I need to do that before they run out.

    Good work on the bars. I need to get in the kitchen and start baking again.

  8. vegirl June 28, 2010 at 4:50 PM #

    Peanut butter and maple??? Sounds delish!
    VEGirl

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does healthy agree with your family? « Teens Eat - July 24, 2010

    […] PB Maple Protein Bars rock… especially with the addition of toffee […]

  2. Mean & Green « Molly Runs Fresh - August 3, 2010

    […] some oober yum protein bars to take back to school. I used Courtney and Whitney’s recipe for Peanut Butter Maple Protein Bars. The recipe really was simple and the only modification I made was adding 5 Dove Dark Chocolate […]

Leave a Reply

