Vegetarian Night

16 Jun

Whew, what a sweat sesshh we had today. It consisted of:

  • 10 min Treadmill
  • 10 min elliptical
  • 10 min jump rope
  • A few weights
  • 20 min Pilates video

After this hard workout, we both showered up, and made some Chocolate Cherry Bombs. They were cold, and the perfect fuel for a good workout. I gotta say these Starby’s Tumblers are awesome, and not to mention adorable.

Since we did not have work today, Court and I were responsible for dinner. This morning we flipped through cookbooks, and magazines for ideas, then settled on Stuffed Tomatoes out of this months issue of vegetarian times. Then, we steamed some veggies, cooked some lentils, and threw together a big side salad.

It was a yummy meal, that was yet again a hit in this household with all that had one.

vegetarian Times Ricotta Stuffed Tomatoes

Serves 8

  • 8 Large Beefsteak tomatoes
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup low-fat ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tbs plus 4 tsp grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 cup corn kernels
  • 1 cup diced zucchini plus 24 very thin slices
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Slice tops off tomatoes, and scoop pulp out of centers to make stuffable tomato shells; set aside. Discard half of tomato pulp; remove seeds from and finely shop remaining half of pulp.
  2. Whisk together eggs and riccota in medium bowl until smooth. Stir in red onion, basil, 2 tbs. Parmesan, and garlic. Add corn, diced zucchini, and chopped tomato pulp; stir until combined.
  3. Fill tomatoes just to top with 1/2 cup of ricotta mixture. Sprinkle each tomato with 1/2 tsp. Parmesan, and top each with 3 zucchini slices and tomato top. Place in large baking dish
  4. Bake 45 minutes, or until filling is puffed up and tops are browned. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Per stuffed tomato: 130 cals;9 grams protein; 5 grams total fat

And dessert was provided complementary of Karstee. We had a cinnamon butter braid. And to pair a scoop of Carmel Praline Fro-yo. MMM, what a great end to a tasty dinner.

Tomorrow we have another day off from work. Hooray, some more sleep, and some more free time. Now were going off to go bake some Maple Protein bars.

QOD: Are you a morning workout person or night? And what are some of your favorite workouts and/or workout DVD’s this summer?

XOXO Court & Whit♥

11 Responses to “Vegetarian Night”

  1. Gina June 16, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    I’m jealous of your days off of work! I want a day off 😦 haha
    I hope you post the recipe for maple protein bars! They sound yummy

  2. Courtney June 16, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    Yum! I’m not a fan of tomatoes, but your dessert looks delish! 😀 How do you make a butter braid?

    • CourtandWhit June 17, 2010 at 8:05 AM #

      This was actually just a cinnamon one that we bought. We took it out of the freezer and let it rise for 8 hours then cooked it. It was amaazzzing!

  3. Sweet Cheeks June 16, 2010 at 8:26 PM #

    I prefer working out in the morning because i’m energized and refreshed. I love Turbo Jam and Hip Hop Abs for workout DVD’s…as well as 30 Day Shred. I want to try some new ones though!

    • CourtandWhit June 17, 2010 at 8:02 AM #

      I have heard those are really good workout DVD’s. My sisters and I just ordered Turbo Fire. I am so excited!
      -Court

  4. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 16, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    I love stuffed peppers and stuffed tomatoes! I’m gonna bookmark this recipe for future reference 🙂

  5. Meg June 16, 2010 at 10:15 PM #

    I LOVE working out at the buttcrack of dawn! Energizes me for the WHOLE day. I like doing pilates in the evening to stretch it out and wind down 🙂

    Oh my gosh those stuffed tomatoes look divine 🙂 I thought they were oranges at first LOL

    Enjoy your evening 🙂

  6. overconcerned June 17, 2010 at 12:39 AM #

    Your dinner looks simply amazing! I must try this someday… And I haven’t even tried stuffed peppers yet! I need to get some STUFFING on in my life! 😀

    I’m a more workout evening kind of person… I’m not good at waking up early in the summer 😛 And you know me, the 30 Day Shred is awesome! (Though I tried to do level 2 and sorta gave up because I was short on time and not familiar with the exercises… :()

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit June 17, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

      Who doesn’t love 30 Day shred. It kicks my butt every time. I usually switch up the levels everytime. You most definietly need to give these tomatoes a try!
      -Court

  7. Erika July 29, 2010 at 8:51 PM #

    I am bookmarking this recipe for the stuffed tomatoes – We have a bunch of tomatoes from my dad’s garden that we have to use up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

