Twas’ the night before vacation…

6 Jun

Sunday June 6th-

Well it was definitely a HOT one today! Even with wearing shorts to work, I still was dying. With the ovens, being surrounded by bagels coming out of the toaster, hot coffees freshly brewed, the drive thru window open with the heat coming in, and NO air conditioning I literally thought I was going to die of heat stroke! We have to wear visors as a part of our uniform, which makes you that much more hot and it gives you a head ache. By the end of the day when I took off my visor, my make up had literally melted off my face from sweat and was all on the inside of my hat. I do not know how I am going to handle working here everyday in the Summer. I got all eight of my glasses of water today at work + more at home. I need to figure out some way to beat the heat and keep these massive head aches away. If you have any suggestions, then I am all ears!

 

 

 

Breakfast this morning was prepared last night. Todays special was:
GREEN OVERNIGHT OATS!

We use this guy, which looks like a green monster, but taste very similar to the odwalla superfoods drink.

MMMmm… this tasted like a green monster in a bowl. This will more than likely be a repeater overnight oats!

In the mix overnight to soak:

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1/2 cup of bolthouse

In the morning add:

  • 3-4 heaping spoonfuls of greek yogurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 tsp. chia, flax seeds
  • drizzle of pb

 

We also did not want anything hot to drink with breakfast so that left us with milk or tea. I was feeling a little congested this morning so I decided we better have some tea. We popped open this Honest Tea that we received with a free coupon from Sprout’s.

I absolutely loved this flavor, but unfortunately Whit was not a big fan. She said it tasted like peach NyQuil.

This kept me full all the way till lunch!

Lunch was kind of random, but we packed our last pumpkin bolani, a perfect foods bar, and some fresh oranges.

 So today everybody that came into Einstein’s was ordering one of our new bagel thin sandwiches. And of course they all had the buy-one -get-one free coupon that got sent out, so we were making a million of these things! They look good, but they are a pain in the but to make.

 

 

We had to close again today, so by the time we got home I was STARVING! So we worked fast a whipped up a yogurt mess. This little guy never tasted so good. I think it was the cinnamon puffins on top. YUM YUM! 🙂

 

There is box after box of pasta in our pantry right now, so our mom made some Chicken Fettucine for dinner.

It was this sauce that made the whole meal!

 

Sprinkled with some pepper, and you’re good to go 😉

 

Well guys I am so psyched, because tomorrow relaxation begins! We are leaving at 3 or 4 in the morning since it is a 9 hour drive.
I found this picture of Yellowstone and thought I show you guys just in case you have never seen how gorgeous this place truly is.

 

Well I do not know if we will have time to post at night on vacation this week, but we will take tons of pictures and fill you in on the whole trip when we get back! I hope you all have a wonderful start to your week tomorrow, and we’ll see ya soon. 🙂

XOXO Court and Whit

11 Responses to “Twas’ the night before vacation…”

  1. kristi June 6, 2010 at 8:28 PM #

    hope you guys a wonderful time!!! I’m sure it will be a blast!

  2. Meg June 6, 2010 at 10:40 PM #

    Ahhh NO AC?!?! What is wrong with those folks? I hope you all feel better – grab a smoothie 😉

    Yellowstone is beautiful 😀

  3. jqlee June 6, 2010 at 11:22 PM #

    have fun. it looks gorgeous!!

    those bagel thin sandwiches look good. anything on a bagel is good 🙂

  4. overconcerned June 7, 2010 at 3:58 AM #

    Have a great time on vacation!! I just finished my last finals, and I have 1.5 (pointless) days of school left on Wednesday and Thursday, then I’m FREE! 😄

    Your green overnight oats look soo good! I wonder if it would work with an actual green monster? Hmm… super energising meal! 😀

    Wei-Wei

  5. A Teenage Gourmet June 7, 2010 at 7:27 AM #

    I really want to try those bottled smoothies that you two talk about, but I just can’t bring myself to buy them because of the cost/ sugar/ etc. . . I see myself caving in one day, haha. Have a great trip! 😀

  6. Courtney June 7, 2010 at 8:12 AM #

    Have fun on your vacation! Sounds so pretty and relaxing 🙂

    To stay cool in the heat, it helps to run your wrists under cold water. There’s some vein that’s close to the skin and cooling it off will make you cooler everywhere. It sounds crazy but it works!

    Also, if you take an ibuprofen/tylenol/whatever headache pills you like before you go to work, it will help stop headaches before they start. Hope these tips help!

  7. Hannah June 7, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    Ahh, as always, your meals look amazing! Those overnight oats look so pretty, I have tried them, but didn’t like the consistency? Well, anyway, that yogurt mess, cinnamon puffins are the bomb!

    Work, that sounds awful, I can relate. I was working last year down in Louisiana, building a house, putting insulation in! It was 105 degrees outside, and 115 in the housee where I was working, with no AC/fan. So horrible, plus I wasn’t getting paid. But I’ve heard that dripping ice on the back of your neck keeps you cool for 45 minutes.

    Have fun on vacation, looks really fun!

    xoxo
    Hannah

  8. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 7, 2010 at 8:31 PM #

    I’ve never been to Yellowstone but the place looks absolutely beautiful! You girls deserve the break, working your butt off all the time and everything. Have fun and stay safe! 🙂

  9. Olivia June 7, 2010 at 9:06 PM #

    hope y’all have fun on vacation! maybe you’ll still be stuck in the heat but at least it will be gorgeous! 😀

  10. Chocolate Coated Runner June 9, 2010 at 11:38 AM #

    Those look ike good drinks…. I’ll have to try ’em =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gotta prepare « Teens Eat - June 20, 2010

    […] this morning was yet again a Bolthouse Green Goodness bowl of overnight oats. With the mighty maple, goji, puffins, and banana, it was to die […]

Leave a Reply

