And finals begin!

3 Jun

 Thursday- 6/3/10  

Well Finals began today and here is how they went:
Me-
4B: Bodyworks- got a C+ but still have an “A” in the class
3B: Honors English- had to write a 5 paragraph essay on the Kite Runner and answer 100 multiple choice. It was easy peasy!
2B: Chemistry- Yikes! 86 multiple choice all consisting of stoiciometry, gas laws, and crap I do not understand. Yeah let’s just say not one person in my class finished. We were all filling in random bubbles in the last 2 minutes.
  

Bodyworks is my only grade that has been put in so far, so hopefully I did well on the others. It always seems like no matter how hard you study, finals bring your grade down regardless. lol  

Whit-
4B: Geo/Trig- Whit said her test was pretty easy. She ended up getting a “C” on that one, but it left her overall grade at a “B”. (GOOD JOB WHIT!)
3B: Honors English: Whit scheduled her final early since we are leaving for vacation early on Monday, so she took her final the same period as me. We have the same english teacher, but different periods. Whit thought the test was a lot easier than she anticipated.
2B: Office assistant- so she went home. 
  

Day one of finals= COMPLETE
  

Well with that said, I present to you this mornings breakfast….
Peanut Butter Dipped Strawberry Oreo Breakfast Cookie

Wow that is a mouthful haha!  

  

 We modified Sweet Cheeks Nut Butter and Oreo B-fast Cookie Recipe into our own! Thanks so much for the recipe girly it was the perfect breakfast 🙂  

  

Here is what we did  

ingredients:  

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • dash of almond milk
  • 1/2 diet hot cocoa packet 
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla whey protein powder

First bite… then  

  

 DEMOLISHED! Yup it is just that good 😉  

  

 Whit and I each packed Bakery On Main Granola Bars today to eat right before the last final.  

  

 **Verdict: Trail Mix- I thought that this bar was hard as a rock, I about chipped my tooth. And it was completely tasteless. I absolutely loved everything else that we have reviewed from Bakery on Main, but bars are just not their expertise.
**Verdict: Peanut Butter Chocolate- Whit said that her bar was hard to, but she loved the flavor. If it was not so hard, it would have been better 😦  

When Whit went home, while I took my last final of the day, she prepared lunch for us. She came and picked me up and then when I came home this beauty was sitting on the table waiting for me! (Thanks Whit, it was incredible!) The lunch included a tuna melt on half of a leftover whole wheat bun, roasted brussels sprouts, and white cheddar pirate booty.  

  

Today was our first day trying Brussel Sprouts… and boy have I been missing out! Whit did not know how to roast these, so she followed this site and they turned out beautifully.  

Recipe for 2 tuna melts–  

  • 1 can of tuna drained
  • 1 garlic and herb laughing cow wedge
  • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • dash of garlic powder
  • cheese of your choice melted on top

  

   

Man I love Pirate Booty! It is like a bottomless bag lol.  

  

**Verdict: This has by far been the best flavor. It reminded me of white cheddar popcorn.  

  

   

Whit and I did our usual Wednesday grocery shopping, but this time only for the things we need for our vacation next week! Some of the things that we are going to is visit Yellowstone, go white water rafting for 9 hours, stay in a condo, and much more I will tell you about soon! I am so excited. We have not been on a REAL vacation to a new state in a LONG time. It is going to be a 9 hour drive, but I do not mind it because I love road trips. I do not know why, but I absolutely love all of the sight seeing as we drive and being with the family.  

When we got home an afternoon snack was not needed so we got right into our workout. I was super sore from Jackie’s video yesterday, so today was Insanity PURE CARDIO. Man after not doing this video for a month, I felt so sick afterwards. I was drenched in a pool of sweat, redder than ever, and feeling nauseated. My lunges definitely got a workout today. Eventhough I was not feeling too well, I was proud of myself for pushing throught the whole video.  

   

Dinner tonight was simple. We are kind of on clean out the fridge mode, so a nice summery fruit salad and PB Jay Robb Bar was in the works.   

  

Filled with lots of antioxidants!  

  

 That is right we needed a “NO JUNK” protein bar after that killer workout!  

  

   

  

  

   

Look at that! This bar was definitely the star of this meal
**VERDICT: This is a total go to bar after you work out. I feel like it replaced all of the minerals my body lost, and it was delish! The crispy’s on the inside are the best part 🙂  

  

Well folks, I hope you all have a wonderful night!  

QOD: Are you going on vacation this summer? Where?  

-Court and Whit

14 Responses to “And finals begin!”

  1. Jessica Lee June 3, 2010 at 9:09 PM #

    congrats on finishing day one. just a few more to go and you’re DONE!

    no summer vacays for me. just a few weekend trips here and there.

  2. Mandiee June 3, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    I know how you feel about finals bringing down your grade. I’m in finals study mode right now, too. Actually, my first one is tomorrow eek :/. Even though you may not have done as well as you had hoped, it’s good that you’re still getting rocking grades and you have your vacay to look forward to. It sounds like oodles of fun! Oh, and brussels are my favorite! They are so good with steamed zucchini, yellow squash, and roasted chickpeas in a warp. Yum, yum!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  3. Courtney June 3, 2010 at 9:39 PM #

    I missed the question list, but since these are fun to answer, I will answer them now. 🙂

    1. I like Neutrogena spot gel. You put it on before bed and in the morning the pimple is gone!
    2. I’m allergic to a lot of makeup, but I love Almay’s eyeliner crayon and mascara. Also Burt’s Bees. 😀
    3. I don’t really follow celebrity stuff, but Angelina Jolie is interesting with all her kids!
    4. Peanut buttah from the jar. Or some reeeeally dark chocolate.
    5. Yep, a light blue Honda Fit. Also known as “the Courtneymobile”
    6. No, I want to be a neuroscientist. Yea it’s weird I know. I’m interested in Northwestern University, Vanderbilt University, and University of North Carolina.
    7. Yes and yes 🙂
    8.
    -Lindt “Touch of Sea Salt” dark chocolate
    -PB & Co. “White Chocolate Wonderful”
    -Smartpop! popcorn… you can eat a whole bag and not feel bad about it cuz it’s healthier than regular buttered microwave popcorn
    -Amy’s Kitchen Mac n’ Soy Cheez
    -Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt

    😀

  4. overconcerned June 3, 2010 at 11:19 PM #

    Yess, congratulations on getting through day one! Sounds like you guys had it down pat. 😀 Your breakfast seriously sounds so amazing. I haven’t tried breakfast cookies yet – sounds like one is in order for Saturday breakfast tomorrow! 😀

    Good luck on your second day of finals! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

  5. A Teenage Gourmet June 4, 2010 at 8:08 AM #

    Quick question for you two, how old was your blog before you started getting free products in the mail? I’m interested in reviewing too, and I see that you girls are pretty good at it!

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate) June 4, 2010 at 3:47 PM #

    Woah that cookie looks awesome! *puts on list of breakfast recipes to make*

    My parents decided to buy new stuff for the house instead of going on a vacation. 😦 But I think we might do some weekend trips that are close to home.

  7. lisa June 4, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

    ooh- I read Kite Runner! i thought it wasnt too bad.
    that oreo bfast cookie looks amazing- i hthink im gonna have to try those!! 🙂

  8. Hannah June 5, 2010 at 6:01 AM #

    Great job on the finals, girls! I am so scared for mine, in 3 weeks, I will not let anyone talk to me about the summer. But that breakfast cookie, looked soo good! I must make it, maybe for a snack one day? I need seriously MONSTER breakfasts, if I am not going to be dying in school. And that protein bar looks good, I have tried a lot, and hated the artificial taste/ingredients. This summer, I am going to stay in New York City for a week, and probably go to a spa/organic/yoga resort for my 16th bday!

    xoxo
    Hannah

    • CourtandWhit June 6, 2010 at 8:23 PM #

      That sound like the greatest sweet 16 ever! I wish mine would have been that cool 🙂 It sounds like you are going to have an amazing time.

  9. therabbitrunner June 5, 2010 at 7:37 AM #

    have lots of fun on your vacation girls!! sounds like your going to have a blast!

    I really want to try those Jay Robb protein bars since his powders are to die for!

  10. Diane July 15, 2010 at 8:20 AM #

    Some great recipes!

Leave a Reply

