Its the start of week 8!

24 May

5/22-5/24

Hello there, I think it is about time for a weekend/ mountain of a Monday wrap-up!

 

Saturday- We woke up at 6 am, then headed off to the job. It was the first day we worked with all of the new coffee’s. The customer’s at our Einstein’s consist mostly of old retired people, and they were pissed about the whole new set up. I was cashier, and Whit was on the line all day making sandwiches. Each customer made it loud and clear to me that they hated the new set up. When work was over, we came home and I showered up and put on my jammies. 🙂 There is nothing like changing into some loose clothes after a long day of work. Once I was all comfy, I sat down to a nice dinner and an awesome finale episode of Grey’s Anatomy. It is weird, but the only times I have seen this show is when it is the finale!

The comment’s consisted of:
“I want to be able to pour my own coffee, this is dumb.” 
“The only reason we have always come here is because it is not like Starbucks.”
“This is only going to make things harder on you guys.”

ect…. ect….

There is nothing that I can do but listen to the negative comments and give the feedback back to the boss. Oh well, I LOVE the new set up. It is so fresh and exciting. I love being able to use a $15,000 coffee machine and make every drink to perfection!

Sunday- The comments were even more negative and people started taking it out on me. I had about had it. Every little mistake or things taking too long were blamed on me, when I was clearly cashing people out all day and had absolutely nothing to do with their food/drink! Any who I shook it off and crashed when I got home.
Now on to the eats….

Friday night we whipped out a pumpkin bolani out of the freezer. It tasted so good paired with Summer’s fruit(mango) and a fresh salad.  

**Verdict: What can I say, anything with pumpkin(esp. a wrap), wins my vote!

 

Saturday’s breakfast was homemade vegan blueberry cornmeal pancakes. We used a recipe out of our “Eat, Drink, Be Vegan” book. It was a little too crumbly. I think I will probably have to tweak the recipe next time. We mashed some banana, added a drizzle of agave, and sprinkled some Vanilla Almond Galaxy Granola on top.  

 

A packed lunch consisted of Barley with shrimp and a side of dried fruit.

 

For dinner, we were craving some carbs so a Tuna Fish Panini it was. What can I say I guess it was a fishy kinda day..lol.  

My family always sticks BBQ chips on Tuna Fish sammies, so we thought what a perfect time to try these:

 

I am lovin’ all of the goods from Newman’s Own! Check out the stats:

**Verdict: Very similar to Quaker Rice Quakes. They were overall guiltless puffs of flavor!

 

And for dessert was a Court and Whit original:
Toffee Chocolate Cheesecake

The recipe is as follows:

  • 2 tbs. Pillsbury Brownie Mix/ the mix of your choice
  • 1 tbs. Sugar-free fat free cheesecake jello mix
  • 1 tsp. toffee chips
  • 1/8 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 pkt of NuNaturals Stevia/ sweetener of choice
  • 1 tbs. egg whites
  • t tbs. greek yogurt
  • 2 tbs. hot water
  • dash of salt

Place all of the ingredients into a microwaved safe bowl sprayed with nonstick spray, and microwave for 2-3 minutes(ours took 3).
*The entire recipe is about 147 calories

 

Sunday’s breakfast was PB&J oats with a few additions…

We added greek yogurt, dates, and granola in addition.

 

Lunch was a classic fruit salad and a Cashew Almond Prana.

**Verdict: If you do not like crunchy, then this bar is not for you. 😛 Luckily I love crunchy, hence all of the kashi bars I like! All of the nuts in this bar were amazing! One word to describe this bar…. crunchtastic lol.

 

 

Finally on to today. After having the mocha cappuccino bolthouse oats the other day, we had a strong craving for another bowl!

We topped our oats with some of these guys:

**Verdict: tastes like giant chocolate animal crackers. They were pretty big so only a few were needed 🙂

 

Today was an “A” day/short day, so we came home and made this yummy lunch:

 Turkey, guac, and onion on a leftover hamburger bun and some fresh fruit(mango, watermelon and kiwi). It was so delish…. I gobbled it up! 

Also served alongside was some Fiber Gourmet Nacho snax!

Here is the nutritional info….

Some meal ideas with Fiber Gourmet…

And a comparison to Kelloggs! Not too shabby right 😉

**Verdict: Cheesy and salty= love. This company has an amazing ability to recreate all of my fav. snacks!

 

After lunch Whit and I each had a square of this chocolate.

**Verdict: I have never had Mocha chocolate before, but it was crazy rich. I could have easily ate the whole bar!

 

And now on to the last review of the day: a Lemon Poppyseed Heart Thrive that Whit and I had for an afternoon snack.

Each pack serves two, so we each had a heart. Each package contains more calcium than a glass of milk!

Here is some info. from their website:

      “No Trans Fats! “      

 “Heart Thrives are a delicious, VEGAN and NON-GMO energy bar. Made with oats, soy and dried fruits, each Heart Thrive supplies 30% daily PROTEIN, FIBER and CALCIUM.”  

“Heart Thrives are made from ingredients with a low glycemic index that metabolize slowly providing sustained energy for hours. “ 

**Verdict: I have only ever tried Poppy Seed Muffins, but in a bar was sooo good. Why don’t they make more creative bar flavors like this company? The heart make look little, but it is very dense and filling. It kept me full till dinner!
For more info. visit: http://www.suncakes.com/Thrive.htm

Today has been kind of a spontaneous day. After lunch, instead of getting right into our workout, homework, chores, ect. we did absolutely nothing. Everybody needs one of those days every once in a while right?! Whit read some blogs, and I took about a 30 min. power nap. We could have got a lot done being our early day, but I could just find no motivation.

In the afternoon, Whit and I completed 30 day shred level 1 then made breakfast burritos for the fam. for dinner.

Well it is about time to actually get some school work done. Before I go I wanted to tell you all about an idea Whit and I have been thinking about for a while now. After about reading Fitnessista’s summer shape up plan, we have been thinking about coming up of one of our own to be featured on our blog. It would be for teens, young people, heck anyone who is interested. Will anyways, we would love to hear all of your feedback!

Court&Whit

7 Responses to “Its the start of week 8!”

  1. kbwood May 24, 2010 at 8:46 PM #

    yall are so adorable! yay for summer shape up!! THAT sounds awesome! LOVE the newmans own..those cookies are my favorite!

  2. Mandiee May 24, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

    I’m sorry to hear that you were the recipient of many complaints this weekend. However, it seems like using an (extremely!) expensive coffee maker would be quite fun :P. I think your good eats made everything worth wile, as well. My mom adores the Newman’s own cookies, as well. The make amazing pretzels; I’m not sure if you’ve tried them. I’ve totally been wanting to try Heart Thrives for AGES now and am so happy to hear that they’re nutritious and filling. Us girls on the go need snacks that pack a punch :D. I love your idea for a plan of your own. I’d definitely be interested, especially because I’m a teen like you.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  3. overconcerned May 24, 2010 at 8:55 PM #

    😦 I hate rude customers. I’ve never worked before, but I always totally sympathise with the waiters if the restaurant is really busy… My mom thinks I’m too nice to them. If they’re really rude, though, I’d speak up.

    What was the old set-up? Was it pour-your-own, from a mug, or…? Sorry, I’ve never been to Einstein Bros!

    Oh, yes, please come up with a plan! I desperately need one 😀 I was considering the 30 Day Shred for the whole summer, but I’ll see what you guys come up with 😉

    Have a great week! 😀

    Wei-Wei

    • CourtandWhit May 24, 2010 at 9:03 PM #

      Yeah the old set up was self serve where people feel up either their own mugs or they buy a cup from us.

  4. Sweet Cheeks May 24, 2010 at 9:06 PM #

    hey girls! I love the idea of doing your own version of a summer shape up!! You know I would be on board for it.

    Have a great night! xoxo

  5. learningtocookeatandenjoydeliciousfood May 24, 2010 at 11:00 PM #

    I am sorry about the nastiness from customers at work. I worked at McDonalds many years ago. I had some very rude customers when I worked there and I hated it. I only worked there for 3 months because my parents wanted me to have some work experience when I entered my teen years!! 🙂

  6. pursuitofhealthfulness May 25, 2010 at 8:44 PM #

    Sorry to hear you guys have to deal with all the mean comments from customers! It seems like employees on the front line always deal with criticism and rarely with compliments! Just keep smiling! (:

Leave a Reply

