I want some Bolani not Bologna

6 May

Thursday- 5/6

Wow!

Who knew Thursday could come so fast on a “b” week, usually it feels like a century. Today was a fairly entertaining day for the most part. We started our day with a Kim & Scott’s Cinnamon Roll Pretzel served alongside a pink lady with almond butter, and a Caramel Toffee Tea Latte.

 

This was the last pretzel, and it was so bomb, but I think my fav. was the pink lady with ALMOND BUTTER. Oh how I have missed you almond butter, you are pure joy 🙂

 

My marketing class is also making a music video for our final. Today we decided on the song “Stronger” by Kanye West. Mine and Whit’s class are going to battle it out to see who has the best video. I am so psyched, and the technology class is going to post it on YouTube, so stay posted in the next two weeks for the link to the videos!

 

Yesterday when we arrived home there was a lovely package from Bolani East & West Gourmet Afghan Food awaiting for us. Now, you are probably wondering what in the heck is Bolani. Well here is some info.:

“Bolani is a traditional Afghani flatbread stuffed and baked with either spinach, pumpkin, red potato, or green lentil filling. They are best served warm as a main dish, side-dish, appetizer, or Hors d’oeuvre”

So…. this is why you should eat it:

“It is the Perfect Diet Food because Bolanis are nutritionally rich in protein, fiber, and vitamins, but low in carbohydrates, calories, fat and sodium. They are ideal for vegans of those looking for healthy alternatives to meat products.” 


The company was very generous and sent us many of their Bolani’s and Spreads/Dips to review. In the package included:

  • Garlic Mint Cheese
  • Cilantro Pesto
  • Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto
  • Lentil Curry Hummus
  • Basil Pesto
  • Smoked Egg Plant
  • Sweet Jalapeno

 

  • The Spinach Bolani
  • The Pumpkin Bolani
  • The Potato Bolani
  • The Lentil Bolani
  •  

     

    Todays pick: Lentil Bolani

    With some soup…

    Minestrone to be exact(it was chilling today and it sounded like the perfect match)

     

    Look at what a mess I made taking it off the pan, it was so soft it just crumbled in my hand lol.

     **Verdict: Only 140 calories, very fulfilling, and has a unique flavor. I have always put lentils in my salads, but in a flat bread, omg it is amazing 😛 What an awesome product you have Bolani. THANKS a million.

    For more info. visit: http://www.bolaniandsauce.com/home.php

     

    Well after lunch, Whit and I did our usual mid-week ritual and went grocery shopping for our momma.

     

    While out and about in the cold, it felt like a Starby’s kind of day. So we quickly made a pit stop and order NF Toffee Nut Lattes and Oatmeal Outrageous Cookies. It was the perfect afternoon snack.

     

     

    When we got home, it was time for a date with Jillian, and yes I am talking one sweaty 40 min. workout date! It has been far too long since I have done this video. It kicked my butt. By the end I could barely lift the weights, I was breathing heavier during the weight lifting portions than in the cardio. lol I guess I know what I am going to need to work on!

     

    Once again continuing our mission to clean out the freezer, we enjoyed some Peppercorn pork tenderloin, rice and gravy, and carrots w/ hummus.

     

    I almost forgot look at all of these great steals we got from Target today:

    My swimming suit: $14.00 for each piece

     

    Whit’s suit: the same price

    Aren’t they both so adorable!

     

    Also after watching Girl Meets Health’s vlog yesterday about good self tanners, we picked up these puppies! Oh man, what a life saver these are going to be when I break out the shorts for Summer 😛

    Well time to do some more homework. Tomorrow’s Friday!

    QOD: What are your favorite self tanner products?

    Court&Whit

    7 Responses to “I want some Bolani not Bologna”

    1. christina May 6, 2010 at 9:38 PM #

      i totally want some bolani now. that looks so awesome. i loooove the purple & white bikini. that’s definitely my style. i always forget about the toffee nut lattes. must get one tomorrow! 🙂 happy almost friday!

    2. overconcerned May 7, 2010 at 12:21 AM #

      Oh, bolani sounds so good! I love all kinds of flatbreads… But only the awesomely chewy ones! Stuffed flatbreads (like bolani) are sooo tasty!

      I really like your swimsuits! I like the stripy one… 😀

      Have a great night! It’s Friday 🙂

      Wei-Wei

    3. Courtney May 8, 2010 at 6:25 PM #

      Yum! Gotta love free hummus 🙂
      I have Jergen’s too, but in lotion form. I have to get rid of my tan lines!!

    4. sweetandsweat May 9, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

      The spinach bolani is THE BEST! You girls are so lucky to receive some samples!

    5. jqlee May 9, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

      I use Clinique self tanner. Its sooo good! I also get spray tans 🙂 love them!

      Those flatbread things looks amazing. I love all things doughy and chewy and carby 🙂

    6. Saleem May 31, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

      Thank you for the wonderful review. Glad you loved the food.

      – Saleem

    7. movesnmunchies November 16, 2010 at 1:31 PM #

      hey girls! just want to say that I’ve been reading your blog (obviously since I’m posting on a post from May ahah ) can’t wait to keep reading!

    Leave a Reply

