Take a look at the scoop

4 May

Good Evenin’!

Well it has been cleaning our the freezer week at the Maughan household. We kept our word and whipped a whole wheat pita/tortilla that we had in the freezer to make nothing other than Nachos. I read a funny joke the other day that made me giggle while I was eating: Why are you eating Nachos? Don’t worry, it’s nacho butt. lol

 

We first cut the pita and tortilla into triangles, drizzle a little olive oil and sea salt. Then put it in the oven at 375 degrees for 15 min. Then you have got yourself some homemade whole wheat tortilla/pita chips. I absolutely loved these chips! Trust me, make your own chips. They are so much better for you and taste amazing fresh out of the oven 🙂

The toppings for our chips consisted of this Hormel Chili, queso, homemade guacamole, and salsa. I was so psyched when I found it in the store, because I have never found turkey chili in a can!

 The guac was so easy, we just pureed an avocado and added some diced tomatoes.(Just like Chipotle)

 It kind of looks like a trifle of nachos.

A salad was served on the side. Look at all of those sprouts, it looks like a mess 😛

Once again another two thumbs up meal.

 

Well it is Hills and homework time, catch you all later!

-Court&Whit

4 Responses to “Take a look at the scoop”

  1. overconcerned May 5, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    I’ll definitely be making those tortilla chips soon! We’ve got some leftover tortilla wraps from a bulk buy from Costco, but wraps have sort of fallen out of favour in our house. I’ll be making some awesome salsa to go with it, too! Thanks for the recipe! 😀

    The nachos looks awesome. And that joke made me laugh 😀

    Have a great night!

    Wei-Wei

  2. Katie May 5, 2010 at 4:46 AM #

    Ahh, I want nachos! I have some TJ’s guilt free tortilla chips to use up (part of operation clean the pantry/freezer out)! Oh! I also have a can of veg. chili. Perfect!

  3. Michal May 5, 2010 at 5:04 AM #

    MMM nachos. And its so funny i heard that joke the other day too randomly, it made me laugh too!

    xoxo

  4. christina May 5, 2010 at 2:28 PM #

    nachos make me so happy! yours look great.

Leave a Reply

