-ACT COMPLETE-

28 Apr

Holey Canoli! We went to bed super early last night, so that we could get our beauty smart sleep for all that testing going on today. For a good healthy/fulfilling breakfast, we whipped up egg whites(egg whites, spinach, laughing cow, chickpeas, broccoli, hot sauce!), some strawberries, and Apple Cinnamon raisin toast. And, for a little perk, and oldie but a goodie, the last of the Pumpkin Spice Latte mix to make coffee. The test began at 7:15 AM, and then ended at 10:45! And oh my goodness the science section was so hard. 😦

 When we got home around 11:15, lunch was a favorite repeat of last week. A green monster, and a Pumpkin PB banana Pita (but this time in a tortilla, and this one had a few chopped dates added).

Green Monsters are so refreshing with lunch 🙂

 After lunch, we looked at today’s grocery Ad’s since it is Double Ad Wednesday. Sprouts and Albertson’s were having some good deals going on, so our mom gave us her card, and we got the grocery shopping done for the week. And the good thing is, no crazy weather happened like it usually does when were out grocery shopping. definitely odd.

For dinner tonight, using our New Hungry girl book, we made Shrimp and Grits. This recipe was adapted from Paula Deen, but then made 100 times healthier. And it was quite a success with this household of picky eaters. lol It was actually everyone’s first time trying grits, which is weird. And I thought they tasted like mashed potatoes, and kinda ricey like. All in all we are grits lovers now♥ To go along with this meal, some veggies were steamed, a crescent roll, and a sparkling Izze.

 Wow, who knew how good grits would be, and the laughing cow mixed in gives a lot of flava!

 Umm yeah, totally thumbs up meal!

 Cheers!

XOXO Court & Whit ♥

10 Responses to “-ACT COMPLETE-”

  1. lisaou11 April 29, 2010 at 10:54 AM #

    it always amazes me how young you 2 are and how healthy you are! You ladies are smart 😉

  2. Michal April 29, 2010 at 1:47 PM #

    Ick i dont want to hear anything about the ACT. I took it three times and got the same score! I am so happy that I never ever have to take it again (:

  3. highonhealthy April 29, 2010 at 2:27 PM #

    I’ve never tried grits either but if they taste like mashed potatoes/rice then I’m down. 😀

  4. Courtney April 29, 2010 at 4:18 PM #

    Sweet heavens the science section WAS difficult! I’m in AP science, and it was freakin impossible!! Some of the questions were kinda entertaining though (TOTALLY EXTREME paint colors?)

  5. kbwood April 29, 2010 at 8:37 PM #

    YAY FOR FINISHING THE ACT! i kind of loved the ACT..ahhaha is that weird?!

  6. Meg April 29, 2010 at 9:26 PM #

    Hoooraaahh for the ACT being ovaaa with! 😀 I hated all high school tests so much, I’m sure ya’ll are feeling stressed, but just remember summer is ALMOST here!

    Can I just say I look forward to reading your blog everyday?! I absolutely love it and I’m so glad Kath Eats led me to it 😀 You guys are fantastic. Ridiculously creative with your food too – I am SO trying some Millet Bread creations soon! Those grits look darn tasty too!

    Enjoy your night 🙂 Happy (almost) Friday!
    Meg

    • CourtandWhit April 29, 2010 at 9:32 PM #

      Aww, you’re so sweet girly! That comment made our day 🙂 And yup we are seriously stressin out like crazy right now. Ugg TOO MUCH HW, projects, last minute tests, and studying. Yikes!

  7. healthnuttxo April 30, 2010 at 7:44 PM #

    haha i actually like grits too. they remind me of cream of wheat/farina!
    i want to get that book- i love HG recipes (altho some have been a flub…)
    im sure you girls did fine on the test, too!! 🙂
    -Lisa

  8. Jenn (Jenn's Menu and Lifestyle Blog) May 1, 2010 at 8:29 AM #

    Hi, Court + Whit!!

    I found your blog via KERF and just wanted to say hello and tell you that I think your recipes/food pics are awesome! 😀 I added you to my blogroll and look forward to your updates.

    Those shrimp + grits look DELISH! Laughing Cow is a great idea for them, YUM!

    Jenn

  9. jqlee May 1, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    Oh man, holler at the GRITS girls!! I love grits. For b-fast try it with maple syrup. No joke, it’s heavenly.

    I’ve never had savory oats though but the meal looks so complete and good. I might have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

