Let’s start with dessert…

15 Jul

Thursday July 15th

This was not an ordinary CW dessert. Usually it is a bowl of Fro-yo or chocolate, but last night we tried something we have never had. We made BAKED APPLES! They were filled with a little bit of Walden’s caramel sauce and brown sugar. Then we could not leave Fro-yo completely out so we added a scoop on top. Now check out them apples!

Well guys if you have not tried a baked apple before then DO! They are awesome.

 

Today has to have been one of the most relaxing days off. I actually slept in because the parentals left on the AC all night. It has been getting ridiculously hot, so this was much needed. With that being said I slept in. Yep that’s right guys the twins who never sleep actually slept! It felt glorious. I woke up feeling energized and ready to make something sweet for breakfast. We ran out of our 100+ serving of Costco Quaker oatmeal so I guess it is time to plan some new breakfasts until the stash is restored. We introduced Ashley into overnight oats so now the family flies through oats. lol

French toast has been on my mind for weeks, especially after Gracie’s French Toast  that she had last week! So this morning I pulled some Earth Grains sandwich thins out of the freezer and got to work! :)

I took two sandwich thin buns and soaked them in:

  • egg whites
  • coffee
  • maple extract
  • cinnamon

    Topping included:

  • 1/2 banana
  • dollop plain yogurt, AB, and caramel sauce

This was so easy! It looks like pancakes huh :P

 

 

Well the good news you all have been waiting to hear came in the middle of Fire 30 class today. I was really getting into the moves today and then the phone rang and it said NY on the caller i.d. Usually we just ignore the phone when we are working out, but not today. This was a special call that we have been waiting for. Arielle Mellen, from Current Health Teens magazine, published monthly by Weekly Reader contacted us yesterday about doing an interview with Whit and I for their magazine. She asked us a TON of questions about healthy eating. It was so much fun to share our knowledge of healthy living and cooking with her. It made me realize that this is truly what I want to do with my life. I love being healthy, I love informing others, this is the route I want to take!

 

 

Lunch was a Tuna Salad and a KIND bar. Wait a minute… where’d we get that? Oh yeah Whit made these little bundles of joy last night. This tasted just like the Fruit and Nut KIND bar. Want one for yourself, but don’t want to cough up around $2 for each then here ya go….

MAKES 2 BARS: combine put these ingredients into the food processor:

  • 7 dried apricots
  • 2 dates

This will give you a nice sticky paste then… roll your paste in these ingredients:

  • 4 chopped brazilian nuts
  • 6 almonds
  • 5 small pieces of dried mango ripped up
  • 1 tbs. goji, banana chips, sweetened coconut flakes

Your welcome ;)

 

Whit and I spent our afternoon running around town picking groceries for our momma. We had to restock up on chicken, so she made us buy 8 3 lb. packages of boneless skinless chicken breast at Albertson’s. The guy looked at me like I was crazy when I told him 8, but hey we have a big family! We broke into one of these packages tonight and made tacos.

These are always a family fave!

 

Well lovelies,

We have a 4 am wake up call tomorrow for work. YIKES! Oh well I am sure a big ol’ cup of coffee will do the trick. Hopefully the Vlog will be up tomorrow, if not def. Saturday. Before I go, have you had anything really exciting happen in your life lately?

-COURT

25 Responses to “Let’s start with dessert…”

  1. Molly July 15, 2010 at 9:06 PM #

    That is so awesome that you ladies are being interviewed about healthy eating for teens! I will be looking for the article. Byeeeeeee!

  2. Meg July 15, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

    Oh my goodness that is AMAZING! Congratulations to you BOTH you deserve this! That’s incredible and I cannot wait to hear more about it :D

    That KIND bar recipe – OH SOOO making that ASAP!

    Have a great night – you should make a cake to celebrate ;)

    Meg

    • CourtandWhit July 16, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

      Let us know how you like the bars, and now I think we will for sure make a cute cake when it’s all publised. The first sight of publicity is a great reason to celebrate :)

  3. sherry July 15, 2010 at 9:31 PM #

    Congratulations girls! They couldn’t have interviewed two better role models for teens. I’m sure this will be just the first stepping stone for you on the road to fulfilling your dreams.

  4. pursuitofhealthfulness July 16, 2010 at 12:34 AM #

    I’ve never thought of soaking French Toast in coffee before, but I bet it’s actually really great.

    I’ve been in Germany all summer, aka, without my own kitchen. So, I am chomping at the bit to get back to the kitchen and whip up some new creations!

  5. Jessica@Healthy Exposures July 16, 2010 at 5:15 AM #

    Congratulations on the interview!! That is so exciting!!
    I love baked apples, too – especially in the fall/winter. So comforting :) And I LOVE, love the idea of using coffee in your french toast. I need to remember that next time! The bar recipe looks perfect, too. So many good things!

  6. Gracie July 16, 2010 at 6:11 AM #

    That homemade KIND Bar is genius!!

  7. lizlivingvegan July 16, 2010 at 7:51 AM #

    Yum! Those little buns + bananas look like a deliciously simple breakfast! And there is nothing better than breakfast after a good night’s sleep!

  8. kaila July 16, 2010 at 8:40 AM #

    congrats ladies!!! that is awesome about the magazine. you guys are truly making a difference in the world of health and fitness for teens. Oh and those homemade kind bars look amazing….will definitely be making some of those today!

  9. Elli @16 and Losing It July 16, 2010 at 8:48 AM #

    That is so exciting that you guys were interviewed! Your french toast looks so good! Next time I want french toast I am definitely going to try that!

  10. Wei-Wei July 16, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

    I think it’s SO AWESOME you guys are being interviewed! Will you be able to post a transcript or scanning of the article here? I can’t wait to hear more about it! :D

    Wei-Wei

  11. Erika July 16, 2010 at 11:14 AM #

    What a great post! I have so many things to say about it:
    1. Do you have a baking time for the apples? I so wanna make em’!
    2. Today I had french toast for breakfast, too! You should check out Peanut Butter Fingers’ English Muffin French Toast recipe! :-)
    3. Congrats on the magazine thing! It’s amazing how many (powerful) people look at blogs!
    4. I bookmarked the recipe for the homemade KIND bars.Yum!

    Whoa…long comment…

    • CourtandWhit July 16, 2010 at 6:48 PM #

      1. yeah, we baked them at 375 for 35 min. Also, make sure to add a little water to the bottom of the pan (about 2 tbs), so they don’t burn.
      2. Just checked it out, and her recipe looks absolutley yum
      3. Thank you so much!
      4. Yay, let us know how you like them

  12. mapledreams July 16, 2010 at 1:55 PM #

    I LOVE apples..and baked apples are just absolutely delicious! I love them with some vanilla ice cream..the hot and cold temperatures just go so amazingly well together! and you just can’t have baked apples without brown sugar! How delicious! I’m now craving some! I did once burn some apples though..it was NOT a pretty experience and resulted in a pan having to be thrown out! Ooooops!

    xx

    • CourtandWhit July 16, 2010 at 6:49 PM #

      Totally agree, and maybe next time try putting a little bit of water in the pan. That way they won’t burn.

  13. healthyhelper July 16, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    how do you guys do ur custom headers? they are awesome! i just cant seem to figure out how to do my own!

    • CourtandWhit July 16, 2010 at 6:50 PM #

      Oh, believe me girl, I am just as clueless as you. Our wonderful reader Wei-Wei was so kind to make it for us. We just sent her a pic, and she did all the rest of the art, cropping, etc. She is talented! lol. I tried to figure it out one day, and wasted like 2 hrs. But I would ask her.

  14. Brittany July 16, 2010 at 6:36 PM #

    The tuna salad looks great! If you don’t mind me asking, what did kind of stuff did you put in it and what’s the dressing?

    • CourtandWhit July 16, 2010 at 6:53 PM #

      We put
      -Romaine
      -Spinach
      -Bok Choy
      -Onions
      -Tomato
      -Black beans
      -1 can of drained tuna
      -2 tbs of fat-free ranch dressing

  15. lisa July 16, 2010 at 7:54 PM #

    french toast looks SOO good- i never thought to use sandwich thins!
    as for exciting,,,
    not really. hahaha but that’s okay- I’m content :)
    and i LOVE the new header to your page! :)

  16. lisa July 16, 2010 at 7:54 PM #

    ooh* i meant exciting in MY life, not about your french toast. haha!

  17. Ann Claire July 16, 2010 at 8:35 PM #

    The baked apples looks awesome! How exciting that ya’ll were interviewed for the Current Health Teens magazine. Congrats! I can’t wait to read the article!

  18. kbwood July 16, 2010 at 10:55 PM #

    SOOOOO im kind of obsessed with your cute selves! FOR REAL! yall are adorable. those kind bars look soo good!! that magazine deal is AWESOME! yall deserve it times 100!! have a GREAT weekend <3

  19. betterwhenweretogether July 17, 2010 at 6:46 AM #

    Oh my gosh I just bought kind bar! Haha wow I’m so mad I easily could have made them I waited a day! Wow that is so awesome that you got to talk to someone from a magazine about your healthy lifestyle! I’m so jealous of you girls I wish I could pursue a healthy balance like you girls! Eats like yummy as always! Keep it up and I’ll be sure to come to you ladies for advice as needed :) have a great day! <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

